Golf Courses That Have Hosted the Most PGA Championships

Whistling Straits has been the site of multiple PGA Championship tournaments

In the history of the PGA Championship (which dates to 1916), which golf courses have been used as the host site most often? One golf course has been the site five times, two have been the site four times, and multiple other courses have hosted three times each.

The Record-Holder: Southern Hills, 5 PGA Championships

Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma, is, so far, the only golf course that has been the site of more than four PGA Championships. Southern Hills most recently hosted in 2022 and is on the schedule to host again in 2030. It reached five times as host before any other club reached four; and will reach six times as host before any other club goes beyond four.

These are the years in which Southern Hills was the PGA Championship site, along with the winners in those years:

1970 — Dave Stockton
1982 — Raymond Floyd
1994 — Nick Price
2007 — Tiger Woods
2022 — Justin Thomas

Southern Hills has also been the site of the U.S. Open, Senior PGA Championship, U.S. Amateur and other USGA amateur championships.

Golf Courses With 4 PGA Championships

There are two other golf courses where the PGA Championship has been played at least four times.

Oak Hill Country Club

1980 — Jack Nicklaus
2003 — Shaun Micheel
2013 — Jason Dufner
2023 — Brooks Koepka

Oak Hill joined the four-or-more club with its hosting of the 2023 PGA Championship. This Rochester, New York, club has also hosted the U.S. Open, Senior PGA Championship, U.S. Senior Open, Ryder Cup and U.S. Amateur.

Valhalla Golf Club

1996 — Mark Brooks
2000 — Tiger Woods
2014 — Rory McIlroy
2024 — Xander Schauffele

Valhalla is in Louisville, Kentucky. It has also been the site of the Ryder Cup and Senior PGA Championship.

Golf Courses With 3 PGA Championships

The following golf courses have all been the site of the PGA Championship three times. Each is listed with the years it hosted, and the winners in each of those years.

Whistling Straits

The PGA Championship takes place on the Straits course at Whistling Straits, which is in Kohler, Wisconsin. The course has also hosted the U.S. Senior Open and the Ryder Cup.

2004 — Vijay Singh
2010 — Martin Kaymer
2015 — Jason Day

Atlanta Athletic Club

1981 — Larry Nelson
2001 — David Toms
2011 — Keegan Bradley

Located in Johns Creek, Georgia, the club's Highlands course is used for the PGA Championship, and has also hosted the U.S. Open and U.S. Amateur. The U.S. Women's Open has been played on the club's Riverside course.

Oakland Hills Country Club

The South Course is the one used at this Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, facility for its PGA Championships. The club has also been the site of the U.S. Open, U.S. Senior Open, Ryder Cup and U.S. Amateur.

1972 — Gary Player
1979 — David Graham
2008 — Padraig Harrington

Oakmont Country Club

1922 — Gene Sarazen
1951 — Sam Snead
1978 — John Mahaffey

Located in Oakmont, Pennsylvania, Oakmont CC has also been the site of the U.S. Open, U.S. Amateur and U.S. Women's Open.

Firestone Country Club

Of the golf courses with three PGA Championships, Firestone, in Akron, Ohio, is the one that has gone the longest since its last hosting duties. But its South Course has been a fixture on the PGA Tour for decades.

1960 — Jay Hebert
1966 — Al Geiberger
1975 — Jack Nicklaus

Photo credit: "Whistling Straits Golf Course, Kohler, Wisconsin" by is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List