Most Masters Wins: All the Multiple Champions in The Masters Tournament

Tiger Woods is one of the golfers with three or more wins in The Masters

Winning The Masters Tournament once is a great achievement. Winning it twice is spectacular. Winning it three times is special and rare — only eight golfers in tournament history have won it at least three times.

In this article, we'll list all the golfers who have won multiple Green Jackets at Augusta National Golf Club. Ten golfers sit on two Masters wins, there are five golfers with three victories, one with four Masters wins, one with five and one golfer won The Masters six times. That is a total of 18 golfers with multiple Masters trophies.

You probably know that Jack Nicklaus is that one golfer with six wins. But we'll start with the golfers who won The Masters twice, and count up to Nicklaus.

2 Masters Wins: 10 Players

The nine golfers who have two wins in The Masters are:
  • Horton Smith — 1934, 1936
  • Byron Nelson — 1937, 1942
  • Ben Hogan — 1951, 1953
  • Tom Watson — 1977, 1981
  • Seve Ballesteros — 1980, 1983
  • Bernhard Langer — 1985, 1993
  • Ben Crenshaw — 1984, 1995
  • Jose Maria Olazabal — 1994, 1999
  • Bubba Watson — 2012, 2014
  • Scottie Scheffler — 2022, 2024
Horton Smith was The Masters' first two-time winner, claiming two of the first three Masters Tournaments that were played. If there is a surprise in the names above, it is probably that Nelson and, in particular, Hogan, won "only" twice at Augusta National.

3 Masters Wins: Five Players

There are five golfers who won The Masters Tournament three times each. Those five, with the years of their victories:
  • Jimmy Demaret — 1940, 1947, 1950
  • Sam Snead — 1949, 1952, 1954
  • Gary Player — 1961, 1974, 1978
  • Nick Faldo — 1989, 1990, 1996
  • Phil Mickelson — 2004, 2006, 2010
Fourteen years after Smith became the tournament's first multiple winner, Jimmy Demaret became The Masters' first three-time champion. In fact, Demaret won his third Green Jacket before his more-famous (and better) contemporary, Sam Snead, won his second.

Gary Player won his third Masters in 1978 by shooting 64 in the final round. He was 42 years old which, at the time, made him the oldest Masters champion (a record since surpassed several times).

Two of Faldo's three wins were back-to-back, and his third, in 1996, is famous more for Greg Norman's collapse than Faldo's brilliant final-round threepeat.

4 Masters Wins: Arnold Palmer

The King won at Augusta National for the first time in the 1958 Masters, the tournament where Arnie's Army was born. He won again in 1960 and 1962. And when Palmer won the 1964 Masters, he became the tournament's first four-time champion.

5 Masters Wins: Tiger Woods

Woods' first title in the 1997 Masters broke all kinds of records: Youngest winner (21), lowest score (270), largest margin of victory (12 strokes).

He next won back-to-back in 2001 and 2002. In the 2005 Masters, his victory is best-remembered for his spectacular, 16th-hole chip-in. And Woods, in winning the 2019 Masters, became the second golfer with at least five wins in The Masters Tournament.

6 Masters Wins: Jack Nicklaus

The record-holder for most wins in The Masters is, of course, the Golden Bear. He got it started at the 1963 Masters. It was his second major championship win, coming in his second year as a pro golfer.

Nicklaus won back-to-back in 1965 and 1966, in the 1965 Masters beating runners-up Palmer and Player by nine strokes. (It prompted Augusta National co-founder Bobby Jones to remark that Nicklaus "plays a game with which I am not familiar.") Nicklaus joined Palmer as a four-time winner in 1972, then at the 1975 Masters — where he dueled Johnny Miller and Tom Weiskopf down the stretch — became The Masters' first five-time winner.

And finally, at the 1986 Masters, at the age of 46, Nicklaus donned the Green Jacket for the sixth and last time.

Photo credit: "WPT Foundation Tiger Jam 2018" by World Poker Tour is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List