Bell Atlantic Classic (Instinet Classic) on Champions Tour

The Bell Atlantic Classic, also known as The Instinet Classic among other names, was a professional golf tournament on the Champions Tour. Fifty-four holes in length, it was played from the mid-1980s into the early 2000s mostly in Pennsylvania.

First played: 1985

Last played: 2002

Lee Trevino and Gil Morgan are the only multiple champions, each winning twice. Morgan's two victories were back-to-back. Morgan is the tournament's scoring record-holder for both 18 holes (63 in 2001) and 54 holes (199 in 2000).

Roughly one-third of the years the tournament took place resulted in a playoff. From 1988-90, there were three consecutive playoffs. The winners were Bruce Crampton, Dave Hill and Dale Douglass, respectively; the losers were three Hall of Famers, Billy Casper, Chi Chi Rodriguez and Gary Player, respectively.

Jay Sigel won the 1998 tournament and during one of his rounds carded a 27 for nine holes. Sigel was the first golfer in Champions Tour history to score 27 over the front nine or back nine of any round.

Bob Charles recorded his 20th career win on the Champions Tour in the 1993 Bell Atlantic Classic. At the time, he was just the fifth golfer in Champions Tour history to reach 20 wins.

Also known as: The tournament was named the United Hospitals Senior Golf Championship the first three times it was played. United Hospitals Classic and Bell Atlantic/St. Christopher's Classic followed for just one year each. The Bell Atlantic Classic name was the longest-running, from 1990-99. And it was The Instinet Classic the final three years.

Winners of the Bell Atlantic Classic/Instinet Classic

1985 — Don January, 135-w
1986 — Gary Player, 206
1987 — Chi Chi Rodríguez, 202
1988 — Bruce Crampton, 205 (def. Billy Casper in playoff)
1989 — Dave Hill, 206 (def. Chi Chi Rodriguez in playoff)
1990 — Dale Douglass, 206 (def. Gary Player in playoff)
1991 — Jim Ferree, 208
1992 — Lee Trevino, 205
1993 — Bob Charles, 204
1994 — Lee Trevino, 206
1995 — Jim Colbert, 207
1996 — Dale Douglass, 206 (def. John Schroeder, Tom Wargo in playoff)
1997 — Bob Eastwood, 135-w
1998 — Jay Sigel, 205 (def. Jose Maria Canizares in playoff)
1999 — Tom Jenkins, 206 (def. Jim Thorpe in playoff)
2000 — Gil Morgan, 199
2001 — Gil Morgan, 201
2002 — Isao Aoki, 201
(w—shortened to 36 holes due to weather)

Golf courses: From 1985 through 1999, the tournament always took place in Pennsylvania. Those Keystone courses were Chester Valley Golf Club and White Manor Country Club, both in Malvern; and Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale. The tournament's final three years took place in Princeton, New Jersey at TPC at Jasna Polana.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List