Scoring Records at the Chevron Championship

What is the lowest winning score in the history of the Chevron Championship, one of the majors of women's professional golf? How about the 18-, 36- and 54-hole tournament scoring records? Let's find out.

The Chevron Championship is one of the five majors on the LPGA Tour schedule each year. It is the one that was previously named the ANA Inspiration and Kraft Nabisco Championship, among other names. Through 2022, this major was played at Mission Hills Country Club in California. Since 2023, The Club at Carlton Woods near Houston, Texas, has been the golf course.

The Chevron Championship was first played in 1972. It has been counted as a major championship since 1983.

72-Hole Chevron Championship Scoring Record

So far in tournament history, three golfers have scored lower than 273. But only one has gotten below 270:
  • 269 — Dottie Pepper (70-66-67-66), 1999, 19-under-par
  • 270 — Patty Tavatanakit (66-69-67-68), 2021, 18-under
  • 272 — Lydia Ko (70-69-71-62), 2021, 18-under
Ko makes the list despite being a non-winner: She finished two strokes behind Tavatanakit.

Pepper's 269 in 1999 (when the tournament was named the Nabisco Dinah Shore) was historic not just for establishing the tournament scoring record. Pepper was the first golfer, man or woman, to finish as low as 19-under in a major championship. Who held the tournament record before Pepper? Amy Alcott, who, in 1991, was the first golfer to score 273 in this tournament.

There a multiple golfers in Chevron Championship history who finished at 273: Amy Alcott, 1991; Annika Sorenstam, 2005; Inbee Park, 2013; Pernilla Lindberg, 2018; Inbee Park, 2018 (non-winner); Jennifer Song, 2018 (non-winner); Mirim Lee, 2020; Brooke Henderson, 2020 (non-winner); Nelly Korda, 2020 (non-winner).

Alcott, when she won at 274 in 1988, was also the first golfer to break 275 in the Chevron Championship.

Other Chevron Championship Scoring Records

18 holes

The single-round tournament record is 62. Lorena Ochoa was the first to post that score, doing so in 2006. Lydia Ko, in the final round in 2021, is the other to do so. Neither Ochoa nor Ko won the tournament. Ochoa lost in a playoff in 2006 to Karrie Webb.

Whose record did Ochoa break when she shot 62? Mary Beth Zimmerman was the previous record-holder with a 63 in 1997.

36 holes

The record of 132 has been scored twice, and in the same year. In the 2018 tournament, Pernilla Lindberg (65-67) and Sung Hyun Park (68-64) shared the 36-hole lead. Lindberg went on to win that year in a playoff, while Park slipped over the final two rounds and finished in ninth place.

54 holes

The lowest score after three rounds in a Chevron Championship is 200. The record-holder is Jennifer Kupcho, who was the third-round leader on 200 (66-70-64) in the 2022 tournament. She wound up winning by two strokes.

Margin of Victory: 10 Strokes

The largest winning margin ever in the Chevron Championship is 10 strokes, by Karrie Webb in 2000. Webb finished at 14-under 274, 10 better than the distant runner-up, Dottie Pepper.

Related articles:

Sources: "The Chevron Championship," Past Winners,
LPGA Tour. "This Week On the LPGA Tour," The Chevron Championship, Championship Scoring Records "Past Champions,"

Popular posts from this blog