Most Chevron Championship Wins: All the Multiple Champs

Which golfer holds the record for most wins in the Chevron Championship? There are actually three golfers who share this record. Each won this LPGA major championship three times.

The Chevron Championship is the LPGA major that was once named, among other things, ANA Inspiration and Kraft Nabisco Championship. It is the one whose champion each year does a flying leap from a running start into a pond or lake by the 18th green — the "Champion's Leap." It is one of the most recognizable traditions in women's professional golf.

The 3 Golfers With 3 Wins Each

These are the three golfers who share the record for most victories in the LPGA Chevron Championship tournament:
  • Amy Alcott: Won in 1983, 1988, 1991
  • Betsy King: Won in 1987, 1990, 1997
  • Annika Sorenstam: Won in 2001, 2002, 2005
It is appropriate that three Hall of Fame golfers share the record. Alcott was the first golfer to win this tournament twice, and then the first to win it three times. It was also Alcott who initiated the Champion's Leap tradition. When she won her second title in 1988, she ran off the 18th green at Mission Hills Country Club (the host site from 1972-2022) and made a celebratory leap into the pond by the green. When Alcott won for a third time in 1991, then-tournament host Dinah Shore, the famous singer, made the jump along with Alcott and her caddie.

Sorenstam's first two victories were back-to-back in 2001-02. She remains the only Chevron Championship winner to claim titles in consecutive years since the tournament has been counted as a major.

2-Time Winners of the Chevron Championship

These are the tournament's other multiple winners in its years as a major championship:
  • Juli Inkster, 1984, 1989
  • Dottie Pepper, 1992, 1999
  • Karrie Webb, 2000, 2006
  • Brittany Lincicome, 2009, 2015
The tournament was founded in 1972 and through 1982 was not an LPGA major championship. It was elevated to major status beginning in 1983.

Were there any multiple winners before it became a major? Yes, one: Sandra Post won in 1978 and 1979. In the full history of the event, both pre- and post-major status, Post is the only other back-to-back winner in addition to Sorenstam.

Related articles:

Eugene Register-Guard. "Alcott repeats her win and her dive," by Mal Florence (Los Angeles Times), April 1, 1991, "The Chevron Championship," Past Winners,

Popular posts from this blog