Golfers Who Won Both the PGA and Senior PGA Championships

The PGA of America's major championship is the PGA Championship, of course. And its major for golfers 50-and-over is the Senior PGA Championship, the oldest of all the senior majors. Have any golfers won both of those titles? Yes, but the number is still fewer than a dozen.

So far there are 11 golfers who've won both the PGA Championship and Senior PGA Championship, and Sam Snead won more combined titles in these two majors than anyone else. But the first golfer to win both of these PGA of America-run tournaments was Jock Hutchison.

Hutchison won the third-ever playing of the PGA Championship in 1920. And then he won the very first Senior PGA Championship when that tournament debuted at Augusta National Golf Club in 1937.

The List: Dual Winners, PGA and Senior PGA Championships

  • Jock Hutchison: Won 1920 PGA Championship, Senior PGA in 1937 and 1947
  • Gene Sarazen: Won PGA Championships in 1922, 1923 and 1933; won Senior PGA Championships in 1954, 1958
  • Paul Runyan: Won 1934 and 1938 PGAs; won 1961, 1962 Senior PGA
  • Sam Snead: Won PGA Championship in 1942, 1949, 1951; won Senior PGA Championship in 1964, 1965, 1967, 1970, 1972, 1973
  • Chandler Harper: Won 1950 PGA Championship and 1968 Senior PGA Championship
  • Julius Boros: Won 1968 PGA Championship plus the Senior PGA in 1971 and 1977
  • Don January: Won 1967 PGA Championship plus the Senior PGA in 1979, 1982
  • Gary Player: PGA Championship winner in 1962 and 1972; Senior PGA Championship winner in 1986, 1988, 1990
  • Jack Nicklaus: Won PGA Championship in 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975 and 1980, plus the 1991 Senior PGA Championship
  • Lee Trevino: PGA Championship winner in 1974, 1984; Senior PGA winner in 1992, 1994
  • Raymond Floyd: Won PGA Championships of 1969 and 1982, plus the 1995 Senior PGA
Snead has the most combined wins between the PGA and Senior PGA championships with nine total (three PGA, six Senior PGA). Snead's six victories in the Senior PGA Championship is the tournament record. Nicklaus shares the tournament record for most wins in the PGA Championship with five, but he won "only" one Senior PGA.

What is the longest time between first PGA Championship win and last Senior PGA Championship victory? Gene Sarazen's first PGA Championship title was in 1922 and his last Senior PGA crown was in 1958. That's a 36-year gap. He was 20 years old in 1922 and 56 in 1958.

See also:

PGA of America. Senior PGA Championship 2018 Media Guide.
PGA of America. 2024 Senior PGA Player Guide, All-Time Records.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List