LPGA Takefuji Classic Golf Tournament (Winners, Records)

The LPGA Takefuji Classic was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour in the early 2000s, played first in Hawaii and then in Nevada. Although played only seven times, it produced an impressive list of champions.

First played: 2000

Last played: 2006

The Takefuji Classic came in with Karrie Webb as its first champion and Lorena Ochoa as its last. It was a 54-hole (three-round), stroke-play tournament, played in April during its final year on the schedule. The LPGA, its commissioner at the time believing Las Vegas was not a good market for the tour, canceled the tournament after the 2006 event.

The lowest winning score was 196, recorded by Annika Sorenstam in 2002. The 18-hole tournament record of 61 was set by Kasumi Fujii in 2002.

The 2004 Takefuji Classic was settled in a sudden-death playoff between Cristie Kerr and Seol-An Jeon that lasted seven holes. At the time, it was the second-longest sudden-death playing in LPGA history. ... Juli Inkster made 11 birdies in a round of 63 during the 2006 tournament, at the time tied for the second-most birdies in a round in LPGA history.

And in the 2002 tournament, Michelle Wie, at age 12 years, 4 months, 14 days, set an LPGA record as the youngest golfer to Monday qualifier for a tour event.

Winners of the LPGA Takefuji Classic

2000 — Karrie Webb, 207
2001 — Lorie Kane, 205
2002 — Annika Sorenstam, 196
2003 — Candie Kung, 204
2004 — Cristie Kerr, 209
2005 — Wendy Ward, 200
2006 — Lorena Ochoa, 197

Golf courses: In its first three seasons, the tournament was played in Hawaii, first at Kona Country Club then at Waikoloa Beach Resort. The event moved to Las Vegas for its final four years, played at Las Vegas Country Club.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List