PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Award Winners

Rickie Fowler is a PGA Tour Rookie of the Year award winner

Below is the list of Rookie of the Year Award winners on the PGA Tour. The tour has given the award only since 1990, when Robert Gamez was its first recipient.

The Rookie of the Year Award process is this: At the end of the PGA Tour season, members of the Players Advisory Council nominate rookies they believe are deserving of consideration for the award. Then, PGA Tour members who have played in at least 15 official money tournaments during that season cast their votes. The rookie with the most votes wins the Rookie of the Year Award.

The List of PGA Tour Rookies of the Year

These are all the golfers who have won the award as the tour's top rookie:

2023 — Eric Cole
2022 — Cameron Young
2021 — Will Zalatoris
2020 — Scottie Scheffler
2019 — Sungjae Im
2018 — Aaron Wise
2017 — Xander Schauffele
2016 — Emiliano Grillo
2015 — Daniel Berger
2014 — Chesson Hadley
2013 — Jordan Spieth
2012 — John Huh
2011 — Keegan Bradley
2010 — Rickie Fowler
2009 — Marc Leishman
2008 — Andres Romero
2007 — Brandt Snedeker
2006 — Trevor Immelman
2005 — Sean O'Hair
2004 — Todd Hamilton
2003 — Ben Curtis
2002 — Jonathan Byrd
2001 — Charles Howell III
2000 — Michael Clark II
1999 — Carlos Franco
1998 — Steve Flesch
1997 — Stewart Cink
1996 — Tiger Woods
1995 — Woody Austin
1994 — Ernie Els
1993 — Vijay Singh
1992 — Mark Carnevale
1991 — John Daly
1990 — Robert Gamez

A couple more notes about the PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Award:

  • The tour defines as golfer's rookie year as the year in which he becomes a PGA Tour member (including Special Temporary Members) and plays in 10 or more events as a member or finishes in the Top 125 as a member on the Official PGA Tour Money List, whichever occurs first.
  • Beginning in 2019, golfers who are named rookie of the year on the PGA Tour receive the Arnold Palmer Award, a trophy featuring Palmer.
Photo credit: "BMW_Aronimink_Tournament (433)"by Michael M Stokes is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List