1989 Walker Cup Winner and Match Scores

The 1989 Walker Cup was the 32nd time this competition took place, and for only the third time Team GB&I claimed the win. Following that result, the all-time standings were 28 wins for Team USA, three wins for Team GB&I, one tie.

Final Score: Great Britain & Ireland 12.5, United States 11.5

Dates Played: August 16-17, 1989

Location: Peachtree Golf Club in Atlanta, Georgia

Team Captains: Geoffrey Marks for Great Britain & Ireland, Fred Ridley for the United States

Team Rosters:

  • GB&I — Craig Cassells, Russell Claydon, Stephen Dodd, Andrew Hare, Peter McEvoy, Garth McGimpsey, Jim Milligan, Eoghan O'Connell, Darren Prosser, Neil Roderick
  • USA — David Eger, Robert Gamez, Ralph Howe, Kevin Johnson, Greg Lesher (alternate, replaced the injured Allen Doyle), Doug Martin, Eric Meeks, Phil Mickelson, Jay Sigel, Danny Yates
Notes: Team GB&I won for just the third time in Walker Cup history, and the first time since the 1971 Walker Cup. It was the first time GB&I ever won in the United States.

GB&I led by one point after the Day 1 foursomes, and by three points at the end of Day 1. Then GB&I won 3.5 of a possible 4 points in the Day 2 foursomes, taking an 11 to 5 lead. That meant GB&I needed to earn only 1.5 points in singles (out of eight available) to win the Cup.

They won 1.5 points. Team USA staged a furious rally in the final singles session, winning 6.5 of those eight points. In fact, the Americans didn't lose a match in the Day 2 singles, winning five and halving three. But those three halves gave GB&I the points it needed for victory.

Key matches were Andrew Hare vs. Doug Martin, and Eoghan O'Connell vs. Phil Mickelson. Hare was 2-down with two holes to play, but won both holes to halve vs. Martin. Then Mickelson three-putted the 17th hole and O'Connell was able to salvage a tie in that match, assuring GB&I an overall tie.

The overall outcome came down to the last match, where American Jay Sigel was 2-up with three holes to play vs. Jim Milligan. But Milligan birdied the 16th to win the hole, then chipped in on the 17th to square the match. After the players halved the 18th, GB&I had the team victory.

1989 Walker Cup Results

Day 1

  • Robert Gamez/Doug Martin, USA, def. Russell Claydon/Darren Prosser, GB&I, 3 and 2
  • Peter McEvoy/Eoghan O'Connell, GB&I, def. Greg Lesher/Jay Sigel, USA, 6 and 5
  • Danny Yates/Phil Mickelson, USA, halved with Stephen Dodd/Garth McGimpsey, GB&I
  • Jim Milligan/Andrew Hare, GB&I, def. David Eger/Kevin Johnson, USA, 2 and 1
Score after first session: GB&I 2.5, USA 1.5


  • Robert Gamez, USA, def. Jim Milligan, GB&I, 7 and 6
  • Russell Claydon, GB&I, def. Doug Martin, USA, 5 and 4
  • Eoghan O'Connell, GB&I, def. Ralph Howe, USA, 5 and 4
  • Stephen Dodd, GB&I, halved with Eric Meeks, USA
  • Phil Mickelson, USA, def. Garth McGimpsey, GB&I, 4 and 2
  • Peter McEvoy, GB&I, def. Danny Yates, USA, 2 and 1
  • Neil Roderick, GB&I, halved with Jay Sigel, USA
Score of second session: GB&I 5, USA 3
Cumulative score after two sessions: GB&I 7.5, USA 4.5

Day 2

  • Robert Gamez/Doug Martin, USA, halved with Peter McEvoy/Eoghan O'Connell, GB&I
  • Russell Claydon/Craig Cassells, GB&I, def. Jay Sigel/Greg Lesher, USA, 3 and 2
  • Jim Milligan/Andrew Hare, GB&I, def. David Eger/Kevin Johnson, USA, 2 and 1
  • Garth McGimpsey/Stephen Dodd, GB&I, def. Phil Mickelson/Danny Yates, USA, 2 and 1
Score of third session: GB&I 3.5, USA 0.5
Cumulative score after three sessions: GB&I 11, USA 5


  • Robert Gamez, USA, def. Stephen Dodd, GB&I, 1-up
  • Doug Martin, USA, halved with Andrew Hare, GB&I
  • Greg Lesher, USA, def. Russell Claydon, GB&I, 3 and 2
  • Danny Yates, USA, def. Peter McEvoy, GB&I, 4 and 3
  • Eoghan O'Connell, GB&I, halved with Phil Mickelson, USA
  • David Eger, USA, def. Neil Roderick, GB&I, 4 and 2
  • Kevin Johnson, USA, def. Craig Cassells, GB&I, 4 and 2
  • Jim Milligan, GB&I, halved with Jay Sigel, USA
Score of fourth session: USA 6.5, GB&I 1.5
Overall and final score: GB&I 12.5, USA 11.5

Previous and next:
1987 Walker Cup | 1991 Walker Cup

Popular posts from this blog