Longest Winning Streaks in LPGA Tour History

The LPGA Tour record for longest winning streak — the golfer who won the most tournament starts in a row — is five. Two tour legends, Nancy Lopez and Annika Sorenstam, share this record.

Lopez set the record with five consecutive wins in 1978. Sorenstam matched the record by winning five in a row over the end of the 2004 season and beginning of the 2005 season.

Lopez and Sorenstam each skipped some Tour events during their win streaks. In other words, they won five consecutive tournaments in which they played, while choosing not to play other tournaments on the schedule that took place during the course of their streaks. Each golfer's streak include one major, the LPGA Championship for Lopez, the Kraft Nabisco Championship for Sorenstam.

Here are the tournaments won by each golfer in her record streak:

Lopez's 5 Wins in a Row in 1978

  • May 12-14, Greater Baltimore Classic, won by three strokes over Donna Caponi
  • May 19-21, Coca-Cola Classic, defeated JoAnne Carner in playoff
  • May 26-29, Golden Lights Championship, won by three over second-place Carner
  • June 8-11, LPGA Championship, won by six over Amy Alcott
  • June 16-18, Bankers Trust Classic, won by two over Debbie Massey and Jane Blalock
Lopez's streak ended at the 1978 Lady Keystone Open, the week after the Bankers Trust Classic, when she finished well back in the pack behind winner Pat Bradley.

Lopez had already won two tournaments before her streak began, and won two more after it ended. She had nine LPGA wins total in 1978, and led the tour in money in scoring. Oh, and it was her rookie year! Lopez won both the Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year awards.

Sorenstam's 5 Wins in a Row in 2004-05

  • Nov. 5-7, 2004, Mizuno Classic, won by nine strokes over runners-up Michie Ohba, Ai Miyazato and Grace Park
  • Nov. 18-21, 2004, ADT Championship, defeated Cristie Kerr in playoff
  • March 4-6, 2005, MasterCard Classic, won by three over Karrie Webb
  • March 17-20, 2005, Safeway International, defeated Lorena Ochoa in playoff
  • March 24-27, 2005, Kraft Nabisco Championship, won by eight over Rosie Jones
Sorenstam's streak ended at the Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill, May 5-8, where she tied for 12th place behind the champion, Cristie Kerr.

Lopez had one win in a playoff, Sorenstam's streak included two playoff wins. Sorenstam was the LPGA's leading money winner in both 2004 and 2005, and the Player of the Year both seasons, too. She had eight wins total in 2004, and 10 wins in 2005.

Most Wins in Consecutive LPGA Tourneys

As noted, the 5-tournament win streaks by Sorenstam and Lopez included some skipped events, tournaments on the calendar they chose not to play. What about win streaks without any skips? In other words, the longest win streaks in consecutively scheduled tournaments on the LPGA calendar?

That record is four wins in a row. It's been accomplished five times by four different golfers: Lorena Ochoa, Sorenstam, Kathy Whitworth and Mickey Wright (twice). Here are those golfers:

Mickey Wright, 1962

  • Aug. 9-12, Heart of America Invitational
  • Aug. 17-19, Albuquerque Swing Parade
  • Aug. 23-26, Salt Lake City Open
  • Aug. 31-Sept. 3, Spokane Open
The first 4-tournament win streak in LPGA history, over four consecutive tournaments on the schedule. And, in this case, four consecutive weeks on the calendar.

Mickey Wright, 1963

  • May 10-12, Alpine Civitan Open
  • May 16-19, Muskogee Civitan Open
  • May 23-26, Dallas Civitan Open
  • May 31-June 2, Babe Zaharias Open
As with her first streak, Wright's wins this time were also over four consecutive weeks.

Kathy Whitworth, 1969

  • March 13-17, Orange Blossom Open
  • March 20-23, Port Charlotte Invitational
  • March 27-30, Port Malabar Invitational
  • April 17-20, Lady Carling Open

Annika Sorenstam, 2001

  • March 8-11, Welch's/Circle K Championship
  • March 15-18, Standard Register Ping
  • March 22-25, Nabisco Championship
  • April 12-14, The Office Depot
There's Annika again. The Standard Register Ping in this streak is the tournament in which Sorenstam became the first LPGA golfer to shoot 59.

Lorena Ochoa, 2008

  • March 27-30, Safeway International
  • April 3-6, Kraft Nabisco Championship
  • April 10-13, Coronoa Championship
  • April 17-20, Ginn Open
Ochoa's streak included a major, the Kraft Nabisco. Her wins also happened over four consecutive weeks.

Popular posts from this blog