The Only Golfers Who Won Four Consecutive Majors

Mickey Wright won four consecutive majors on the LPGA Tour

Has any golfer won four consecutive major championships? The answer is yes: Three golfers have achieved that feat. But none of them won the grand slam. The grand slam is winning all four professional majors in the same year. What we are talking about is winning four majors in a row, whether those wins happened in the same year or not. And, just to be clear: We don't mean winning the same major four years running, but, rather, winning four successive majors on the golf calendar.

Bobby Jones did win the grand slam, but he doesn't make this list because we are focusing on professional majors. At the time of Jones' accomplishments in 1930, the tournaments he won, and that were called at the time the grand slam, were the U.S. and British opens and the U.S. and British amateurs.

Who are the three players in the history of golf who won four consecutive major championships? Here they are:

Young Tom Morris, 1868-72

In the 1860s and 1870s, there was only one national open in professional golf, The Open Championship (or, as some people now call it, the British Open). And Morris won it four consecutive times it was played, which means, because it was the only major, he won four consecutive majors. He won the 1868 British Open to start the streak, the 1872 British Open to finish it, and in-between the 1869 and 1870 Opens. What about 1871? The Open wasn't played that year.

Mickey Wright, 1961-62

It took nearly 100 years before any other golfer joined Tommy Morris in winning four majors in a row, and it happened on the LPGA Tour. The golfer was Mickey Wright (pictured above). At the time, the four majors in women's golf were the Women's Western Open, U.S. Women's Open, LPGA Championship and Titleholders Championship.

Wright's streak started in the 1961 season when she won the year's final two majors. She claimed the U.S. Women's Open by six strokes over runner-up Betsy Rawls on July 1. And on October 15, Wright finished off her victory in the LPGA Championship, winning by nine over Louise Suggs.

Then Wright won the first two majors of the 1962 LPGA season. On April 29 she beat Ruth Jessen in a playoff at the Titleholders Championship. Then, on May 13, Wright won the Women's Western Open in another playoff, this time over Mary Lena Faulk. Four major championship wins in a row. Going for five in a row at the 1962 U.S. Women's Open, Wright finished tied for fourth place.

Tiger Woods, 2000-01

By far the best-known of the trio of four-majors-in-a-row streaks is Tiger Woods' — it even has its own name. We call it the "Tiger slam."

After finishing fifth in the 2000 Masters, Woods won the next four majors he played: the U.S. Open, British Open and PGA Championship in 2000, then the 2001 Masters. He got the streak started with a 15-stroke win in the 2000 U.S. Open, the tournament record. Then he won the Open Championship by eight strokes.

At the 2000 PGA Championship, Woods defeated Bob May in a famous David-vs.-Goliath golf playoff. To finish off the streak, Woods won the first major of 2001, The Masters, by two strokes over runner-up David Duval. The streak ended when Woods finished tied for 12th in the 2001 U.S. Open.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List