Solheim Cup Captains: Full List (Plus Assistants)

The list of Solheim Cup captains goes back to 1990, the year the competition was first played. It was launched that year to give the world's best women golfers a competition modeled after the Ryder Cup, with teams representing Europe and the United States.

The captain for Team Europe is selected by the Ladies European Tour; the captain for Team USA is selected by the LPGA Tour. Team captains' duties include selecting some of the players on their teams (known as captains' picks), choosing their assistants, deciding how to pair off their players for the doubles (foursomes, fourballs) formats, and deciding their players' order of play.

The List: Solheim Cup Captains

(Click on a year to view the final score, golf course, team rosters and match scores from that Solheim Cup. A "-w" following the captain's name indicates the winning captain.)

Year Europe USA
2024 Suzann Pettersen Stacy Lewis
2023 Suzann Pettersen Stacy Lewis
2021 Catriona Matthew-w Pat Hurst
2019 Catriona Matthew-w Juli Inkster
2017 Annika Sorenstam Juli Inkster-w
2015 Carin Koch Juli Inkster-w
2013 Liselotte Neumann-w Meg Mallon
2011 Alison Nicholas-w Rosie Jones
2009 Alison Nicholas Beth Daniel-w
2007 Helen Alfredsson Betsy King-w
2005 Catrin Nilsmark Nancy Lopez-w
2003 Catrin Nilsmark-w Patty Sheehan
2002 Dale Reid Patty Sheehan-w
2000 Dale Reid-w Pat Bradley
1998 Pia Nilsson Judy Rankin-w
1996 Mickey Walker Judy Rankin-w
1994 Mickey Walker JoAnne Carner-w
1992 Mickey Walker-w Kathy Whitworth
1990 Mickey Walker Kathy Whitworth-w

Related article: All Solheim Cup captains' picks, by year, with records

Captains' Assistants in the Solheim Cup

Team USA calls the captains' helpers Assistant Captains; Team Europe calls them Vice Captains. Each captain is responsible for selecting her assistants; there is no minimum or maximum number. Captains often invite others to serve in informal roles, too; only officially listed assistants are included here.

Assistants were not officially part of the Solheim Cup until 2000, so the following list goes back only to that year.

  • 2023: Europe — Anna Nordqvist, Laura Davies, Caroline Martens. United States — Morgan Pressel, Natalie Gulbis, Angela Stanford.
  • 2021: Europe — Laura Davies, Kathryn Imrie, Suzann Pettersen. United States — Stacy Lewis, Angela Stanford, Michelle Wie.
  • 2019: Europe — Laura Davies, Kathryn Imrie, Mel Reid. United States — Pat Hurst, Nancy Lopez, Wendy Ward
  • 2017: Europe — Marta Figueras-Dotti, Maria Hjorth, Suzann Pettersen. United States — Pat Hurst, Nancy Lopez, Wendy Ward
  • 2015: Europe — Sophie Gustafson, Maria Hjorth, Annika Sorenstam. United States — Pat Hurst, Wendy Ward
  • 2013: Europe — Carin Koch, Annika Sorenstam. United States — Laura Diaz, Dottie Pepper
  • 2011: Europe — Joanne Morley, Annika Sorenstam. United States — Juli Inkster, Sherri Steinhauer
  • 2009: Europe — Joanne Morley, Liselotte Neumann. United States — Meg Mallon, Kelly Robbins
  • 2007: Europe — Marie-Laure de Lorenzi. United States — Beth Daniel
  • 2005: Europe — Alison Nicholas. United States — Donna Caponi
  • 2003: Europe — Alison Nicholas. United States — Jane Geddes
  • 2002: Europe — Pamela Wright. United States — Jane Geddes
  • 2000: Europe — Pamela Wright. United States — Debbie Massey

Popular posts from this blog