Quicken Loans National/AT&T National (PGA Tour)

The Quicken Loans National, previously called the AT&T National, was played from the mid-2000-aughts to the late 2010s on the PGA Tour. The tournament was managed by the Tiger Woods Foundation and Woods served as the event's de facto host. It ended when the title sponsor withdrew to take on a new event and no replacement sponsor was found.

First played: 2007

Last played: 2018

"The National," as it was sometimes called, was played on the Fourth of July weekend in the Washington, D.C., area, and had a "military appreciation" theme.

Tournament scoring records of 259 and 21-under-par were set by Francesco Molinari in 2018. Molinari won by eight strokes that year, the event record for margin-of-victory. The 18-hole scoring record was 61, set by Troy Merritt in 2015.

Tiger Woods and Justin Rose were the only 2-time winners of this event.

Also known as: Quicken Loans National (2014-18) and AT&T National (2007-13) were the two names used.

Winners of the Quick Loans National Tournament

2007 — K.J. Choi, 271
2008 — Anthony Kim, 268
2009 — Tiger Woods, 267
2010 — Justin Rose, 270
2011 — Nick Watney, 267
2012 — Tiger Woods, 276
2013 — Bill Haas, 272
2014 — Justin Rose, 280
2015 — Troy Merritt, 266
2016 — Billy Hurley III, 267
2017 — Kyle Stanley, 273
2018 — Francesco Molinari, 269

Golf courses: The tournament was always played in the Washington, D.C., area, with Congressional Country Club as the first host site. Aronimink Golf Club, another famous American course, also hosted during the early years. Later, the tournament also visited Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Virginia and TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm in Maryland.

Popular posts from this blog