Youngest Winners of the PGA Championship Tournament

The youngest winner ever of the PGA Championship was only 20 years old when he won it. And he won it again the next year to appear on the youngest-winners list twice.

That golfer — the record-holder — is golf legend Gene Sarazen. By the time his career ended, Sarazen had 39 PGA Tour wins and seven major championship wins, and was the first golfer to win the career grand slam.

List of Youngest PGA Championship Winners

Rory McIlroy Is PGA Championship's Youngest Stroke-Play Winner

The first three golfers on the list above all won their PGA Championships in the tournament's match-play era, and early in its history.

The second four golfers on the list all won in the stroke-play era. When McIlroy won in 2012, he supplanted Nicklaus as the youngest PGA Championship winner playing stroke play — what you might call the tournament's "modern era."

Related article: List of oldest PGA Championship winners

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List