2012 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2012 PGA Championship marked the 94th time the tournament was played. Rory McIlroy won his second major championship here, doing it with a tournament-record margin of victory.

Winner: Rory McIlroy, 275

Where it was played: Kiawah Island Resort (The Ocean Course), Kiawah Island, South Carolina

Tournament dates: August 9-12, 2012

Leader after first round: Carl Pettersson, 66

Leader after second round: Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh and Carl Pettersson, 140

Leader after third round: Rory McIlroy, 209

What Happened in the 2012 PGA Championship

At the 2011 U.S. Open, Rory McIlroy won by eight strokes to claim his first win in a major. At the 2012 PGA Championship, McIlroy again won by eight strokes, taking his second trophy in a major. And that margin set a new record here: McIlroy broke the tournament record for largest margin of victory in a PGA Championship. Jack Nicklaus had been the recordholder with a 7-stroke win at the 1980 PGA Championship.

McIlroy opened the tournament with a 67, then struggled to a 75 in Round 2. That 75 didn't hurt him too badly, though, as the field scoring average in Round 2 was near 78, the highest average score in any PGA Championship to this point.

Near the beginning of McIlroy's third round, an incident happened that might have derailed his quest, had he let it. He hit a drive on the third hole that never came down — it flew into a dead cypress tree and stuck in the tree branch. McIlroy had to take a 1-stroke penalty for an unplayable lie, but after dropping, he hit a great approach to the green, then sank the putt to salvage par. After that, it was mostly smooth sailing.

The only thing that got in McIlroy's way (other than the tree) was the weather on Saturday at South Carolina's Ocean Course. A heavy band of thunderstorms stopped third-round play, requiring many golfers to complete the round on Sunday morning.

Tiger Woods was one competitor who lost ground in that third round, and Woods fell farther behind in the final round, eventually finishing tied for 11th. When the 23-year-old McIlroy won, he reached his second career win in a major at a younger age than Tiger, by four months.

Journeyman David Lynn, who received a special invitational from the PGA of America to play, wound up in second place. Defending champion Keegan Bradley was among those tied for third.

McIlroy wound up posting three rounds of 67 or better to go with that second-round 75, finishing at 13-under 275.

2012 PGA Championship Final Scores

Rory McIlroy 67-75-67-66—275
David Lynn 73-74-68-68—283
Keegan Bradley 68-77-71-68—284
Justin Rose 69-79-70-66—284
Ian Poulter 70-71-74-69—284
Carl Pettersson 66-74-72-72—284
Blake Adams 71-72-75-67—285
Jamie Donaldson 69-73-73-70—285
Peter Hanson 69-75-70-71—285
Steve Stricker 74-73-67-71—285
Tiger Woods 69-71-74-72—286
Geoff Ogilvy 68-78-70-70—286
Ben Curtis 69-77-73-67—286
Bubba Watson 73-75-70-68—286
Tim Clark 71-73-73-69—286
Graeme McDowell 68-76-71-71—286
Adam Scott 68-75-70-73—286
Bo Van Pelt 73-73-67-74—287
Padraig Harrington 70-76-69-72—287
John Daly 68-77-73-69—287
Jimmy Walker 73-75-67-73—288
Robert Garrigus 74-73-74-67—288
Seung-Yul Noh 74-75-74-65—288
Louis Oosthuizen 70-79-70-69—288
Joost Luiten 68-76-75-69—288
Pat Perez 69-76-71-72—288
Marc Leishman 74-72-71-72—289
Jason Dufner 74-76-68-71—289
Thorbjorn Olesen 75-74-71-69—289
Miguel Angel Jimenez 69-77-72-71—289
Trevor Immelman 71-72-70-76—289
Greg Chalmers 70-76-72-72—290
John Senden 73-74-72-71—290
Bill Haas 75-73-69-73—290
Luke Donald 74-76-74-66—290
Rich Beem 72-76-72-71—291
Y.E. Yang 73-74-74-70—291
Marcel Siem 72-73-71-75—291
Phil Mickelson 73-71-73-74—291
Fredrik Jacobson 71-75-73-72—291
Vijay Singh 71-69-74-77—291
Jim Furyk 72-77-70-73—292
J.J. Henry 72-77-70-73—292
Aaron Baddeley 68-75-74-75—292
Gary Woodland 67-79-75-71—292
David Toms 72-78-72-70—292
Martin Laird 71-74-79-68—292
Paul Lawrie 73-75-71-74—293
Ernie Els 72-75-73-73—293
Dustin Johnson 71-79-72-71—293
Thomas Bjorn 70-79-74-70—293
Retief Goosen 73-75-75-70—293
Scott Piercy 68-78-79-69—294
Francesco Molinari 70-75-74-75—294
Sang-Moon Bae 72-78-71-73—294
Darren Clarke 73-76-72-73—294
Brendon de Jonge 71-78-72-73—294
K.J. Choi 69-77-75-73—294
Charl Schwartzel 70-77-74-74—295
Ryo Ishikawa 69-77-79-70—295
Kyung-Tae Kim 69-77-77-73—296
Ken Duke 71-78-74-74—297
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano 67-78-75-77—297
Chez Reavie 74-76-73-74—297
George McNeill 71-76-80-70—297
Alexander Noren 67-80-73-78—298
Marcus Fraser 74-75-78-71—298
John Huh 72-78-79-70—299
Toru Taniguchi 72-76-78-73—299
Zach Johnson 72-73-76-79—300
Matt Every 72-76-74-82—304
Cameron Tringale 69-78-77-82—306

Previous and next:
2011 PGA Championship - 2013 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List