2011 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2011 PGA Championship was the tournament's 93rd edition. Keegan Bradley came from five strokes behind with three holes to play to tie and force a playoff, then won that playoff to take the trophy.

Winner: Keegan Bradley, 272

Where it was played: Atlanta Athletic Club (Highlands Course), Johns Creek, Georgia

Tournament dates: August 11-14, 2011

Leader after first round: Steve Stricker, 63

Leader after second round: Keegan Bradley and Jason Dufner, 135

Leader after third round: Jason Dufner and Brendan Steele, 203

What Happened at the 2011 PGA Championship

PGA Tour rookie Keegan Bradley defeated Jason Dufner in a 3-hole, aggregate-score playoff to win the 2011 PGA Championship. Bradley played the three extra holes in 1-under par to Dufner's score of even-par.

Bradley and Dufner, at the start of the championship week, were unlikely choices to be combatants in a playoff for the major title. Bradley was a 25-year-old rookie, albeit one who had won earlier in the season and was playing well entering the tournament. But he was the 108th-ranked player in the world rankings. Dufner was 34 years old, winless on the PGA Tour, and entered the 2011 PGA Championship ranked No. 80.

But no big names stepped up to challenge the pair, and Bradley himself seemed to play his way out of the running when he triple-bogeyed the 15th hole of the final round. At that point, Dufner had a 5-stroke lead with three holes to play.

But Bradley rebounded with birdies at the 16th and 17th holes, while Dufner bogeyed the 15th, 16th and 17th holes. And that brought them back into a tie. Both players parred the final hole of regulation, which sent them into the 3-hole, aggregate playoff.

Bradley birdied the first playoff hole, then Dufner bogeyed the second. That gave Bradley a 2-stroke edge. On the third of the three aggregate holes, Dufner birdied, but Bradley's par won him the playoff and the PGA Championship.

Bradley used a long putter during the 2011 PGA Championship, and became the first golfer to win a major using a long putter. He also was the first golfer since Ben Curtis at the 2003 British Open to win in his first appearance in a major. Bradley is the nephew of LPGA Hall of Famer Pat Bradey, a 31-time winner on the LPGA Tour, including six major championships.

The tournament was played at Atlanta Athletic Club, and two former major winners at that site used the 2011 PGA Championship as their farewells to major golf. Jerry Pate, winner of the 1976 U.S. Open, and Larry Nelson, winner of the 1981 PGA Championship, both missed the cut. Tiger Woods also missed the cut, only the third missed cut in a major in his career.

2011 PGA Championship Final Scores

p-Keegan Bradley 71-64-69-68—272 (3-3-4—10)
Jason Dufner 70-65-68-69—272 (4-4-3—11)
Anders Hansen 68-69-70-66—273
Scott Verplank 67-69-69-70—275
David Toms 72-71-65-67—275
Robert Karlsson 70-71-67-67—275
Adam Scott 69-69-70-68—276
Luke Donald 70-71-68-68—277
Lee Westwood 71-68-70-68—277
Kevin Na 72-69-70-67—278
D.A. Points 69-67-71-71—278
Steve Stricker 63-74-69-73—279
Charl Schwartzel 71-71-66-71—279
Sergio Garcia 72-69-69-69—279
Bill Haas 68-73-69-69—279
Gary Woodland 70-70-71-68—279
Trevor Immelman 69-71-71-68—279
Nick Watney 70-71-68-70—279
Phil Mickelson 71-70-69-70—280
Hunter Mahan 72-72-66-70—280
Matt Kuchar 71-71-68-70—280
Ryan Palmer 71-70-69-70—280
Brian Davis 69-73-69-69—280
John Senden 68-68-72-72—280
Brendan Steele 69-68-66-77—280
Spencer Levin 71-70-68-72—281
Bubba Watson 74-68-70-69—281
Mark Wilson 69-71-71-70—281
Robert Allenby 72-70-71-68—281
Charles Howell III 72-68-73-68—281
Jerry Kelly 65-73-74-69—281
Scott Piercy 71-68-71-71—281
Brendon de Jonge 68-72-69-72—281
Chris Kirk 72-72-69-69—282
Francesco Molinari 72-71-67-72—282
Alexander Noren 70-72-68-72—282
Matteo Manassero 68-74-71-70—283
Ben Crane 71-72-66-74—283
K.J. Choi 70-73-69-72—284
Bill Lunde 71-71-69-73—284
Johan Edfors 71-70-73-70—284
Harrison Frazar 72-69-72-71—284
Ian Poulter 74-68-70-72—284
Jim Furyk 71-65-73-75—284
Seung-yul Noh 71-70-75-69—285
Andres Romero 72-70-74-69—285
Ross Fisher 71-69-76-69—285
Pablo Larrazabal 70-73-76-66—285
Brandt Jobe 68-69-73-75—285
Yuta Ikeda 73-68-72-72—285
Rickie Fowler 74-69-75-68—286
Simon Dyson 68-72-71-75—286
John Rollins 72-72-70-72—286
Jhonattan Vegas 70-68-74-74—286
Johnson Wagner 71-69-72-74—286
Ryan Moore 75-69-76-67—287
Ricky Barnes 69-75-71-72—287
Bryce Molder 74-69-70-74—287
Zach Johnson 71-72-73-72—288
Kyung-Tae Kim 73-71-70-74—288
Michael Bradley 70-74-74-70—288
Robert Garrigus 70-70-74-76—290
Kevin Streelman 73-71-71-75—290
Sean O'Hair 71-73-77-70—291
Peter Hanson 71-71-76-73—291
Padraig Harrington 73-69-75-74—291
Miguel Angel Jimenez 69-73-72-77—291
Rory McIlroy 70-73-74-74—291
Edoardo Molinari 75-69-76-72—292
Mike Small 73-71-70-78—292
Y.E. Yang 71-73-74-74—292
Davis Love III 68-71-76-79—294
Paul Casey 72-72-78-72—294
Shaun Micheel 66-78-77-74—295
Rory Sabbatini 73-69-73-80—295

Previous and next:
2010 PGA Championship - 2012 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog