2010 PGA Championship Winner and Results

The 2010 PGA Championship was the tournament's 92nd edition, and was marked by a controversial penalty and a playoff for the trophy.

Winner: Martin Kaymer, 277

Where it was played: Whistling Straits, Kohler, Wisconsin

Tournament dates: August 12-15, 2010

Leader after first round: Matt Kuchar, 67

Leader after second round: Matt Kuchar, 136

Leader after third round: Nick Watney, 203

Notable Notes: Martin Kaymer beat Bubba Watson in a 3-hole, aggregate-score playoff, but it's the guy who was missing from the playoff for whom this major is often remembered.

Watson posted 11-under first, then Kaymer tied him with a 15-foot par save on the last hole. Meanwhile, Johnson birdied the 16th and 17th holes to lead by one going to the last. He bogied, apparently falling into a tie, but upon leaving the hole was informed by rules officials of a penalty he incurred while played the 18th hole.

Johnson hit his drive into a sandy area and did not recognize that he was in a bunker. So when he grounded his club in that bunker, it was a 2-stroke penalty. Many believed the design of Whistling Straits, with tiny pockets of sand everywhere, was unfair to Johnson in this instance. But players had been clearly informed before the tournament started that sandy areas would be treated as bunkers.

Kaymer won the 3-hole playoff over Watson by one stroke.

Final Scores

x-Martin Kaymer 72-68-67-70—277
Bubba Watson 68-71-70-68—277
Zach Johnson 69-70-69-70—278
Rory McIlroy 71-68-67-72—278
Jason Dufner 73-66-69-71—279
Steve Elkington 71-70-67-71—279
Dustin Johnson 71-68-67-73—279
Camilo Villegas 71-71-70-68—280
Wen-Chong Liang 72-71-64-73—280
Jason Day 69-72-66-74—281
Matt Kuchar 67-69-73-72—281
Simon Dyson 71-71-68-72—282
Paul Casey 72-71-70-69—282
Phil Mickelson 73-69-73-67—282
Bryce Molder 72-67-70-73—282
Robert Karlsson 71-71-71-70—283
D.A. Points 70-72-70-71—283
Stewart Cink 77-68-66-73—284
Ernie Els 68-74-69-73—284
Stephen Gallacher 71-69-72-72—284
Steve Stricker 72-72-68-72—284
Charl Schwartzel 73-69-72-70—284
Nick Watney 69-68-66-81—284
J.B. Holmes 72-66-77-70—285
Carl Pettersson 71-70-71-73—285
Simon Khan 69-70-71-75—285
Jim Furyk 70-68-70-77—285
David Horsey 72-71-69-74—286
Troy Matteson 72-72-70-72—286
Tiger Woods 71-70-72-73—286
Bo Van Pelt 73-67-72-74—286
Seung-yul Noh 68-71-72-75—286
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano 70-73-73-71—287
Ryan Palmer 71-68-75-73—287
Heath Slocum 73-72-68-74—287
Edoardo Molinari 71-72-70-74—287
David Toms 74-71-67-75—287
Francesco Molinari 68-73-71-75—287
Brian Davis 71-72-69-76—288
Adam Scott 72-73-71-72—288
Justin Leonard 73-69-73-73—288
K.J. Choi 74-69-71-74—288
Ben Crane 73-68-73-74—288
Tim Clark 72-71-70-75—288
Hunter Mahan 74-71-68-75—288
Vijay Singh 73-66-73-76—288
Brandt Snedeker 75-70-67-76—288
Kyung-Tae Kim 70-72-71-76—289
Darren Clarke 74-70-72-73—289
Martin Laird 70-74-72-73—289
Marc Leishman 71-73-72-73—289
Shaun Micheel 73-69-76-71—289
Charles Howell III 69-74-72-74—289
Brendon de Jonge 74-66-74-75—289
Tom Lehman 74-70-73-73—290
Davis Love III 73-72-72-73—290
Retief Goosen 76-68-74-72—290
Gregory Bourdy 70-70-75-76—291
Kevin Na 74-71-71-75—291
Rickie Fowler 73-71-70-77—291
Peter Hanson 71-71-71-78—291
Rhys Davies 71-71-75-75—292
Chad Campbell 70-70-78-74—292
Fredrik Andersson Hed 74-71-74-73—292
Ryan Moore 69-76-72-76—293
Brian Gay 72-70-71-80—293
D.J. Trahan 72-73-74-75—294
Stuart Appleby 72-73-73-77—295
Rob Labritz 73-71-74-77—295
Ross McGowan 73-72-71-81—297
Jeff Overton 74-71-74-79—298

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List