2009 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2009 PGA Championship was the 91st time the tournament was played. Y.E. Yang outdueled Tiger Woods to become the first Korean major winner in men's golf.

Winner: Y.E. Yang, 280

Where it was played: Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.

Tournament dates: August 13-16, 2009

Leader after first round: Tiger Woods, 67

Leader after second round: Tiger Woods, 137

Leader after third round: Tiger Woods, 208

What Happened at the 2009 PGA Championship

There was nothing surprising about the way the 2009 PGA Championship began: Tiger Woods held or shared the lead for each of the first three rounds. But there was something very surprising about the way this tournament ended: Tiger Woods lost that lead, and someone else won the tournament. That someone else was Y.E. Yang.

Woods led Yang by one stroke entering the final round. Woods had taken a lead into the final round of 14 previous majors, and he won all 14 of those majors. And in most tournaments, major or otherwise, that Tiger led in his career to this point, his playing partner in the final round succumbed to the pressure and fell off the pace.

But not Yang. He caught Woods on the front nine of the final round, then fell one stroke behind again. But on the 14th hole, Yang chipped in for eagle and moved ahead of Woods. Woods had a couple opportunities over the last few holes, but his putting just wasn't on-beam throughout the final round.

On the last hole, with a one-stroke lead, Yang hit a 3-hybrid to within a few feet of the pin, then sank the birdie putt to achieve the final margin of victory.

It marked the second time Yang beat Woods down the stretch — he also topped Woods to win the 2006 HSBC Champions tournament in China. Yang, from South Korea, also achieved the distinction of being the first men's major championship winner born in Asia.

For Woods, it was his second PGA Championship played at Hazeltine, and the second time a relative unknown beat him down the stretch. Rich Beem held off Woods to win the 2002 PGA Championship at Hazeltine.

Defending champion Padraig Harrington was in the mix the whole week until the final day when he made a quintuple bogey on the par-3 No. 8 hole. Paul Azinger, winner of the 1993 PGA Championship, missed the cut in his final playing appearance at any of the four majors. Fred Couples tied for 36th place in his final PGA Championship start.

2009 PGA Championship Final Scores

Y.E. Yang 73-70-67-70—280
Tiger Woods 67-70-71-75—283
Lee Westwood 70-72-73-70—285
Rory McIlroy 71-73-71-70—285
Lucas Glover 71-70-71-74—286
Martin Kaymer 73-70-71-73—287
Ernie Els 75-68-70-74—287
Soren Kjeldsen 70-73-70-74—287
Henrik Stenson 73-71-68-75—287
John Merrick 72-72-74-70—288
Dustin Johnson 72-73-73-70—288
Zach Johnson 74-73-70-71—288
Graeme McDowell 70-75-71-72—288
Francesco Molinari 74-73-69-72—288
Padraig Harrington 68-73-69-78—288
Hunter Mahan 69-75-74-71—289
Vijay Singh 69-72-75-73—289
Tim Clark 76-68-71-74—289
Ian Poulter 72-70-76-72—290
Oliver Wilson 74-72-72-72—290
Michael Allen 74-71-72-73—290
Corey Pavin 73-71-71-75—290
Ross Fisher 73-68-73-76—290
Robert Allenby 69-75-75-72—291
K.J. Choi 73-72-73-73—291
Ben Curtis 73-72-73-73—291
Scott McCarron 75-72-71-73—291
Stephen Ames 74-71-70-76—291
Brendan Jones 71-70-73-77—291
John Rollins 73-73-68-77—291
Alvaro Quiros 69-76-69-77—291
Jeff Overton 72-74-75-71—292
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano 70-77-73-72—292
Kevin Sutherland 73-72-74-73—292
Steve Flesch 74-73-69-76—292
Soren Hansen 72-76-74-71—293
Fred Couples 74-74-73-72—293
Woody Austin 73-73-73-74—293
Thongchai Jaidee 70-76-73-74—293
Miguel Angel Jimenez 75-73-71-74—293
Boo Weekley 74-74-71-74—293
David Toms 69-75-72-77—293
Geoff Ogilvy 71-73-78-72—294
Kenny Perry 74-70-78-72—294
Rich Beem 71-76-75-72—294
Luke Donald 71-77-73-73—294
Chad Campbell 74-73-73-74—294
Kevin Na 73-75-71-75—294
Charl Schwartzel 76-70-72-76—294
Ben Crane 70-75-72-77—294
Thomas Levet 72-75-76-72—295
Michael Sim 73-75-76-71—295
Camilo Villegas 73-73-76-73—295
Anthony Kim 73-74-71-77—295
Retief Goosen 77-71-70-77—295
Ryo Ishikawa 74-74-76-72—296
Charlie Wi 72-76-75-73—296
Bob Tway 72-76-74-74—296
Hiroyuki Fujita 71-74-73-78—296
Tom Lehman 72-74-76-75—297
Richard Green 75-73-74-75—297
John Mallinger 73-71-76-77—297
J.J. Henry 72-73-80-73—298
Nathan Green 72-75-76-75—298
Angel Cabrera 76-70-76-76—298
Jim Furyk 73-75-73-77—298
Paul Goydos 70-78-78-73—299
David Smail 75-73-75-76—299
Rory Sabbatini 74-70-78-77—299
Jeev Milkha Singh 74-73-74-78—299
Justin Leonard 73-75-73-78—299
Stewart Cink 73-73-72-81—299
Phil Mickelson 74-74-76-76—300
Greg Bisconti 75-72-78-76—301
Sean O'Hair 74-73-82-73—302
Bob Estes 74-74-77-78—303
Grant Sturgeon 73-71-80-79—303
Chris Wood 74-73-77-79—303
Alastair Forsyth 73-75-75-82—305

Previous and next:
2008 PGA Championship - 2010 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List