2008 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2008 PGA Championship was the 90th time the tournament was played. Padraig Harrington's come-from-behind win made him the first European to claim this major since the 1930s.

Winner: Padraig Harrington, 277

Where it was played: Oakland Hills Country Club (South Course), Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Tournament dates: August 7-10, 2008

Leader after first round: Robert Karlsson and Jeev Milkha Singh, 68

Leader after second round: J.B. Holmes, 139

Leader after third round: Ben Curtis, 208

What Happened at the 2008 PGA Championship

Just a month after he won his second consecutive British Open title, Padraig Harrington racked up another major at the 2008 PGA Championship. It was the third major victory of his career, and Harrington also became the first European-born golfer since Tommy Armour in 1930 to win this tournament. His victory here also made Harrington the first Irishman to win the PGA Championship, and the first European golfer to win the British Open and PGA Championship in the same year.

Harrington opened with rounds of 71 and 74, which easily made the cut but wasn't scaring the leaders. But in the third round Harrington shot 66, and that moved him into a tie for fourth place. At that point he was three strokes behind leader Ben Curtis.

In the final round, Harrington shot another 66 to finish at 3-under 277, two strokes ahead of the runners-up, Curtis and Sergio Garcia. Curtis, winner of the 2003 British Open, lost his chance at the trophy with bogeys on two of the final four holes. Garcia, who lost a playoff to Harrington in the 2007 British Open, bogeyed two of the last three holes. Harrington finished with a birdie on the 17th hole and a 15-foot par putt on the final hole.

The defending champion, Tiger Woods, did not play, after underdoing knee surgery a couple months earlier. That cost Woods, the 2006 and 2007 PGA champion, the chance at a three-peat.

2008 PGA Championship Final Scores

Padraig Harrington 71-74-66-66—277
Sergio Garcia 69-73-69-68—279
Ben Curtis 73-67-68-71—279
Henrik Stenson 71-70-68-72—281
Camilo Villegas 74-72-67-68—281
Steve Flesch 73-70-70-69—282
Andres Romero 69-78-65-72—284
Phil Mickelson 70-73-71-70—284
Justin Rose 73-67-74-71—285
Alastair Forsyth 73-72-70-70—285
Charlie Wi 70-70-71-74—285
Jeev Singh 68-74-70-73—285
Ken Duke 69-73-73-71—286
Aaron Baddeley 71-71-71-73—286
Stuart Appleby 76-70-69-72—287
Paul Casey 72-74-72-69—287
Prayad Marksaeng 76-70-68-73—287
David Toms 72-69-72-74—287
Graeme McDowell 74-72-68-73—287
Brian Gay 70-74-72-72—288
Robert Karlsson 68-77-71-72—288
Boo Weekley 72-71-79-66—288
Angel Cabrera 70-72-72-74—288
Mark Brown 77-69-74-69—289
Nicholas Thompson 71-72-73-73—289
Brandt Snedeker 71-71-74-73—289
Fredrik Jacobson 75-71-70-73—289
Retief Goosen 72-74-69-74—289
Jim Furyk 71-77-70-72—290
J.B. Holmes 71-68-70-81—290
Paul Goydos 74-69-73-75—291
Ian Poulter 74-71-73-73—291
Geoff Ogilvy 73-74-74-70—291
Sean O'Hair 69-73-76-73—291
Ernie Els 71-75-70-75—291
D.J. Trahan 72-71-76-72—291
Chris DiMarco 75-72-72-72—291
Robert Allenby 76-72-72-71—291
Steve Elkington 71-73-73-75—292
Steve Stricker 71-75-77-69—292
Rory Sabbatini 72-73-73-74—292
Michael Campbell 73-71-75-74—293
John Senden 76-72-72-73—293
Tom Lehman 74-70-75-74—293
Mike Weir 73-75-71-74—293
Briny Baird 71-72-73-77—293
Michael Allen 70-75-71-78—294
Dean Wilson 73-73-77-71—294
Billy Mayfair 69-78-75-72—294
Carl Pettersson 71-74-76-73—294
Charles Howell III 72-76-77-69—294
Peter Hanson 71-73-75-76—295
John Merrick 73-75-70-77—295
Charl Schwartzel 77-70-73-75—295
Tim Clark 76-72-73-75—296
Anthony Kim 70-75-74-77—296
James Kingston 72-76-74-74—296
Pat Perez 73-73-79-72—297
Justin Leonard 74-71-72-80—297
John Mallinger 72-75-77-74—298
Stephen Marino 73-74-75-76—298
Chez Reavie 78-70-78-72—298
Niclas Fasth 73-73-75-78—299
Corey Pavin 75-73-73-78—299
Kevin Sutherland 76-71-77-75—299
Paul Azinger 72-76-76-75—299
Mark Calcavecchia 71-76-76-76—299
Peter Lonard 74-74-74-78—300
Hiroyuki Fujita 77-70-76-77—300
Bubba Watson 75-73-77-76—301
Richard Green 71-77-79-76—303
Rocco Mediate 73-74-72-85—304
Louis Oosthuizen 76-72-81-77—306

Previous and next:
2007 PGA Championship - 2009 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog