Royal Caribbean Classic (Champions Tour) Golf Tournament

The Royal Caribbean Classic was a golf tournament on the PGA Champions Tour played from the late 1980s to the early 2000s. It always took place in Key Biscayne, Fla., and typically in the earliest part of the senior tour's yearly schedule.

First played: 1987

Last played: 2004

Bruce Fleisher won the tournament three times, more than anyone else. (Fleisher's first win in 1999 was also his very first tournament played on the Champions Tour.) Lee Trevino had a couple wins, too. The tournament was 54 holes. In two years (2000-01) it used the Stableford scoring system.

The Champions Tour's all-time record for longest sudden-death playoff was set in this tournament in 1998. David Graham defeated Dave Stockton on the 10th hole of sudden death.

Also known as: It was the Royal Caribbean Golf Classic its final two years (2003-04), and the Gus Machado Senior Classic in its first two years (1987-88).

Winners of the Royal Caribbean Classic

2004 — Bruce Fleisher
2003 — Dave Barr
2002 — John Jacobs
2001 — Larry Nelson
2000 — Bruce Fleisher
1999 — Bruce Fleisher
1998 — David Graham
1997 — Gibby Gilbert
1996 — Bob Murphy
1995 — J.C. Snead
1994 — Lee Trevino
1993 — Jim Colbert
1992 — Don Massengale
1991 — Gary Player
1990 — Lee Trevino
1989 — No tournament
1988 — Lee Elder
1987 — Gene Littler

Golf courses: The Links at Key Biscayne was the original course and hosted the tournament from 1987 through 1996. From 1997 until its final year, the Royal Caribbean Classic took place at Crandon Park Golf Club, also in Key Biscayne, Fla.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List