Colgate Hall of Fame Classic Golf Tournament (PGA Tour)

The Colgate Hall of Fame Classic was a golf tournament on the PGA Tour that was played 10 times in the 1970s and 1980s. And its roster of champions does, in fact, include multiple Hall of Famers.

First played: 1973

Last played: 1982

Five of the 10 champions were eventually Hall of Fame inductees. And since Tom Watson won twice, that means future Hall of Famers won six of the 10 tournaments played. However, the fields were much stroger the first seven years; the final three years, without a deep-pocketed title sponsor, the fields fell off.

When the tournament debuted in 1973, it was a 144-hole, two-week, 240-player golf tournament — which explains winner Miller Barber's 570 score. The PGA Tour switched it to a normal event (72 holes) the following year.

In Year 1, however, it had the largest purse ($500,000) and first-place check ($100,000) ever in golf to that point.

Watson was the only 2-time winner. ... The tournament scoring record was Hale Irwin's 264 in 1977.

Also known as: It was called the World Open Golf Championship when it debuted, and just the "Hall of Fame" when it ended. "Colgate Hall of Fame Golf Classic" was another name used.

Winners of the Colgate Hall of Fame Classic

1973 — Miller Barber, 570
1974 — Johnny Miller, 281
1975 — Jack Nicklaus, 280
1976 — Raymond Floyd, 274
1977 — Hale Irwin, 264
1978 — Tom Watson, 277
1979 — Tom Watson, 272
1980 — Phil Hancock, 275
1981 — Morris Hatalsky, 275
1982 — Jay Haas, 276

Golf courses: It was played all 10 times at Pinehurst Country Club in Pinehurst, N.C., which, at the time the tournament existed, was home to the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Popular posts from this blog