1949 Walker Cup Winner and Match Scores

The 1949 Walker Cup was the 12th time this competition took place. Following the United States victory, the all-time standings were 11 wins for Team USA, one win for Team GB&I.

Final Score: United States 10, Great Britain & Ireland 2

Dates Played: August 19-20, 1949

Location: Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, New York

Team Captains: Laddie Lucas for Great Britain & Ireland, Francis Ouimet for the United States

Team Rosters:

Notes: It was another America steamroll in the Walker Cup. Ronnie White teamed with Joe Carr to win the opening foursomes for GB&I, then, on Day 2, White won the first singles match of the day. But those were the only matches GB&I won in the tournament.

Captain Francis Ouimet made his final appearance as a member of Team USA. Ouimet played in the tournament eight times (compiling a record of 5-3 in foursomes and 4-2-2 in singles), and also captained the team six times. Twice he was a playing captain. In all, Ouimet appeared in every Walker Cup from the first in 1922 until this one, 12 consecutive appearances.

1949 Walker Cup Results

Day 1 Foursomes

  • Joe Carr/Ronnie White, GB&I, def. Ray Billows/Willie Turnesa, USA, 3 and 2
  • Chuck Kocsis/Frank Stranahan, USA, def. Jimmy Bruen/Max McCready, GB&I, 2 and 1
  • Ted Bishop/Skee Riegel, USA, def. Cecil Ewing/Gerald Micklem, GB&I, 9 and 7
  • Johnny Dawson/Bruce McCormick, USA, def. Ken Thom/Arthur Perowne, GB&I, 8 and 7
Score after first session: USA 3, GB&I 1

Day 2 Singles

  • Ronnie White, GB&I, def. Willie Turnesa, USA, 4 and 3
  • Frank Stranahan, USA, def. Max McCready, GB&I, 6 and 5
  • Skee Riegel, USA, def. Jimmy Bruen, GB&I, 5 and 4
  • Johnny Dawson, USA, def. Joe Carr, GB&I, 5 and 3
  • Charles Coe, USA, def. Cecil Ewing, GB&I, 1-up
  • Ray Billows, USA, def. Ken Thorn, GB&I, 2 and 1
  • Chuck Kocsis, USA, def. Arthur Perowne, GB&I, 4 and 2
  • Jim McHale Jr., USA, def. Gerald Micklem, GB&I, 5 and 4
Score of second session: USA 7, GB&I 1
Overall and final score: USA 10, GB&I 2

Previous and next:
1947 Walker Cup | 1951 Walker Cup

Popular posts from this blog