Bank One Classic Winners (Champions Tour)

The Bank One Classic was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour (played under various names, noted below) from the early 1980s until the late 1990s. It was played annually in Lexington, Kentucky.

First played: 1983

Last played: 1997

The tournament (not to be confused with the Bank One Championship, a different senior tour tournament played in 1999-2000) was 72 holes in its first year, but 54 holes each time thereafter.

Gary Player and Rives McBee both won the tournament twice, McBee doing so back-to-back. In McBee's first win, in 1989, he earned that victory after playing his way in through Monday qualifying.

Lee Elder won the 1985 tournament in a playoff over Walt Zembriski, Dan Sikes and Orville Moody. Gene Littler defeated Miller Barber and Bob Goalby in a playoff to win in 1986; and DeWitt Weaver won a playoff over J.C. Snead in 1991.

Also known as: When the tournament started in 1983, it was called the Citizens Union Senior Golf Classic. Names that followed were Bank One Senior Golf Classic, RJR Bank One Classic, Vantage Bank One Classic, Bank One Senior Classic and, finally, for its final three years, just Bank One Classic.

Winners of the Bank One Classic

1997 — Vicente Fernandez, 203
1996 — Mike Hill, 207
1995 — Gary Player, 211
1994 — Isao Aoki, 202
1993 — Gary Player, 202
1992 — Terry Dill, 203
1991 — DeWitt Weaver, 207 (won playoff)
1990 — Rives McBee, 202
1989 — Rives McBee, 202
1988 — Bob Charles, 200
1987 — Bruce Crampton, 197
1986 — Gene Littler, 201 (won playoff)
1985 — Lee Elder, 135 (weather shortened; won playoff)
1984 — Gay Brewer, 204
1983 — Don January, 260

Golf courses: The tournament was first played at Griffin Gate Golf Club in Lexington, Kentucky, from 1983 to 1989. From 1990 until it ended, it took place at Kearney Hill Links, also in Lexington.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List