Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles

The Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles is a golf tournament that was played on the European Tour 14 times in the early 21st century. The tournament was discontinued after it was skipped in 2014 so that the host facility could play host to the Ryder Cup instead.

Paul Casey, winner in 2001 and 2006, was the tournament's only double champion. Casey's first win here was also his first ever on the European Tour. Adam Scott won by 10 strokes in 2002, the event's margin-of-victory record, and also established the record for youngest winner at age 22.

The 72-hole scoring record is 262, set by Scott and 2002. Martin Erlandsson's 62 in 2009 is the 18-hole tournament record. ... This tournament is not to be confused with the Johnnie Walker Classic, a different European Tour event.

First played: 1999

Last played: 2013

Also known as: Originally called the Scottish PGA Championship. Names that followed were Gleneagles Scottish PGA Championship, Diageo Scottish PGA Championship and Diageo Championship at Gleneagles.

Winners of the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles

2013 — Tommy Fleetwood-p, 270
2012 — Paul Lawrie, 272
2011 — Thomas Bjorn-p, 277
2010 — Edoardo Molinari, 278
2009 — Peter Hedblom, 275
2008 — Gregory Havret, 278
2007 — Marc Warren-p, 280
2006 — Paul Casey, 276
2005 — Emanuele Canonica, 281
2004 — Miles Tunnicliff, 275
2003 — Soren Kjeldsen, 279
2002 — Adam Scott, 262
2001 — Paul Casey, 274
2000 — Pierre Fulke, 271
1999 — Warren Bennett-p, 282
(p-won playoff)

Golf Courses: This event was always played at the Gleneagles Hotel resort in Perthshire, Scotland, for its last few years at the resort's PGA Centenary Course.

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List