Champions Tour Player of the Year Award Winners

The Player of the Year Award on the Champions Tour is officially named the Jack Nicklaus Award. Nicklaus, however, never won it, because he simply didn't play enough tournaments.

The award winner receives a trophy depicting Nicklaus thrusting his putter into the air in jubilation. (This same trophy is also presented to the PGA Tour Player of the Year winner and the Tour Player of the Year winner.)

The Champions Tour Player of the Year Award is based on a vote by players. The tour sends out a ballot at the end of the season with multiple nominees, and players make their choice.

Golfers Who've Won the Most Champions Tour Player of the Year Awards

Bernhard Langer dominates the list that follows, winning nine times. That includes a stretch of five consecutive years. In tour history, three golfers have been named Player of the Year three times or more:
  • Bernhard Langer — 8-time winner
  • Hale Irwin — 3 times
  • Lee Trevino — 3 times

All Champions Tour Player of the Year Winners

(The list goes back to 1990, when the tour first awarded this prize.)

2019 — Scott McCarron
2018 — Bernhard Langer
2017 — Bernhard Langer
2016 — Bernhard Langer
2015 — Bernhard Langer
2014 — Bernhard Langer
2013 — Kenny Perry
2012 — Tom Lehman
2011 — Tom Lehman
2010 — Bernhard Langer
2009 — Bernhard Langer
2008 — Bernhard Langer
2007 — Jay Haas
2006 — Jay Haas
2005 — Dana Quigley
2004 — Craig Stadler
2003 — Tom Watson
2002 — Hale Irwin
2001 — Allen Doyle
2000 — Larry Nelson
1999 — Bruce Fleisher
1998 — Hale Irwin
1997 — Hale Irwin
1996 — Jim Colbert
1995 — Jim Colbert
1994 — Lee Trevino
1993 — Dave Stockton
1992 — Lee Trevino
1991 — (tie) Mike Hill and George Archer
1990 — Lee Trevino

Photo credit: "Bernhard Langer" by Golfshake is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

What Ever Happened to Danielle Amiee of 'The Big Break'?