Alamo Ladies Classic, Onetime LPGA Stop in San Antonio

The Alamo Ladies Classic was played 11 times on the LPGA Tour, mostly in the 1960s, in San Antonio, Texas.

First played: 1960

Last played: 1973

Three golfers dominated it: Kathy Whitworth won four times, Louis Suggs twice and Sandra Haynie twice. Another Hall of Famer, Marlene Hagge also won. That means nine out of 11 times played, the tournament was won by a future member of the World Golf Hall of Fame. Whitworth also finished as runner-up three times.

In all but one year it was a three-round tournament. The 54-hole scoring record was 212, set by Suggs in her 1961 victory. Her 1960 and 1961 wins here were among Suggs' last on the LPGA Tour. She won once in 1962 and then not again.

Also known as: San Antonio Civitan Open, Alamo Open, Alamo Ladies Open, San Antonio Alamo Open

Winners of the Alamo Ladies Classic
1973 — Betsy Cullen, 218
1972 — Kathy Whitworth, 209
1971 — Sandra Haynie, 206
1968-70 — Not played
1967 — Kathy Whitworth, 213
1966 — Sandra Haynie, 213
1965 — Marlene Hagge, 213
1964 — Kathy Whitworth, 283
1963 — Kathy Whitworth, 219
1962 — Murle Lindstrom, 215
1961 — Louise Suggs, 212
1960 — Louise Suggs, 215

Golf Courses: The Alamo Ladies Classic was played at two municipals — Brackenridge Park and Olmos Basin golf courses — as well as at Pecan Valley Golf Club and Woodlake Golf Club over its history.

Popular posts from this blog