Bob Hope British Classic Golf Tournament

The PGA Tour tournament that Bob Hope's name was on for decades is still played and well-known; the defunct European Tour event that carried his name much less so. This was also a pro-am, but Hope's name was dropped after the fourth iteration. Then it had almost as many names as it did champions.

First played: 1980

Last played: 1991

Also known as: Four-Stars National Pro-Celebrity, London Standard Four-Stars National Pro-Celebrity, Wang Four Stars National Pro-Celebrity, Wang Four Stars, European Pro-Celebrity

Winners of the Bob Hope British Classic
1991 — Paul Broadhurst
1990 — Rodger Davis
1989 — Craig Parry
1988 — Rodger Davis
1987 — Mark McNulty
1986 — Antonio Garrido
1985 — Ken Brown
1984 — Not played
1983 — Jose Maria Canizares
1982 — Gordon Brand Jr.
1981 — Bernhard Langer
1980 — Jose Maria Canizares

Golf Courses: Played in its first year at R.A.C. Golf & Country Club, then at Moor Park Golf Club the rest of its history except for the final year at Royal Liverpool.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List