Gatlin Brothers Southwest Golf Classic on the PGA Tour

The Gatlin Brothers-Southwest Golf Classic is a former tournament on the PGA Tour, played during the 1980s. It was played only a handful of times, but is remembered for having a celebrity title and a strong roster of champions.

The Gatlin Brothers were country music performers, led by chart-topping singer Larry Gatlin. The tournament was played in Abilene, Texas. When the PGA Tour version of this tournament ended, a tournament called the Gatlin Brothers Southwest Senior Classic took place on the Champions Tour in 1989-90.

First played: 1981

Last played: 1988

Also known as: For a tournament that was only played eight times, this one sure had a lot of different names. The Gatlin Brothers had their name in title only in the final year. Before that it was the Southwest Golf Classic, LaJet Golf Classic, LaJet Coors Classic and LaJet Classic.

Winners of the Gatlin Brothers Southwest Golf Classic
1988 — Tom Purtzer
1987 — Steve Pate
1986 — Mark Calcavecchia
1985 — Hal Sutton
1984 — Curtis Strange
1983 — Rex Caldwell
1982 — Wayne Levi
1981 — Tom Weiskopf

Golf Courses: Fairway Oaks Country Club in Abilene, Texas, was the host course every year.

Popular posts from this blog