IVB Golf Classic Tournament (PGA Tour)

The IVB Golf Classic is a former PGA Tour golf tournament played in the Philadelphia area during the 1960s and 1970s. Its first three championships were split between Arnold Palmer and Jack Nicklaus, and Nicklaus eventually won three times. Tom Kite's first PGA Tour victory happened here in the 1976 tourney.

First played: 1963

Last played: 1980

Also known as: Through its history this tournament was also known as the IVB-Philadelphia Golf Classic, IVB-Bicentennial Golf Classic, Philadelphia Golf Classic and Whitemarsh Open Invitational.

Winners of the IVB-Golf Classic
1980 — Doug Tewell
1979 — Lou Graham
1978 — Jack Nicklaus
1977 — Jerry McGee
1976 — Tom Kite
1975 — Tom Jenkins
1974 — Hubert Green
1973 — Tom Weiskopf
1972 — J.C. Snead
1971 — Tom Weiskopf
1970 — Billy Casper
1969 — Dave Hill
1968 — Bob Murphy
1967 — Dan Sikes
1966 — Don January
1965 — Jack Nicklaus
1964 — Jack Nicklaus
1963 — Arnold Palmer

Golf Courses: The tournament was played throughout its history at one course - Whitemarsh Valley Country Club in Lafayette Hill, Penn., a Philadelphia suburb.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List