Mayflower Classic Winners (Former LPGA Tournament)

The Mayflower Classic was a golf tournament played on the LPGA Tour from the mid-1970s to the late 1980s. It was played in Indiana.

First played: 1976

Last played: 1988

The tournament had only one multiple champion: Sandra Palmer won it twice, including its first year. Her second victory, via playoff in 1986, was the 19th and final of her LPGA career. For Debbie Austin, her 1981 victory was also her last win (of seven) on the LPGA Tour. Colleen Walker got her first (of nine career) win on the LPGA Tour in this event in 1987.

The Mayflower Classic began as a 54-hole tournament, but in its fifth year it switched to 72 holes. The 54-hole scoring record was 209, shared by Palmer and Jane Blalock. The 72-hole scoring record was 275, shared by Amy Alcott and Sally Little. Alice Miller's 6-stroke win in 1985 set the tournament's margin-of-victory record.

Also known as: Bloomington Bicentennial Classic

Winners of the LPGA Mayflower Classic

1976 — Sandra Palmer, 209
1977 — Judy Rankin, 212
1978 — Jane Blalock, 209
1979 — Hollis Stacy, 213 (def. Laura Baugh and Judy Rankin in playoff)
1980 — Amy Alcott, 275
1981 — Debbie Austin, 279
1982 — Sally Little, 275
1983 — Lauren Howe, 280
1984 — Ayako Okamoto, 281
1985 — Alice Miller, 280
1986 — Sandra Palmer, 280 (def. Christa Johnson and Jan Stephenson in playoff)
1987 — Colleen Walker, 278
1988 — Terry-Jo Myers, 276

Golf Courses: The Country Club of Indianapolis, Harbour Trees Golf Club, Lake Monroe at the Pointe Golf Course

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List