1988 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1988 British Open was the 117th time the tournament was played and the third (and last) time that this year's champion was the winner.

Winner: Seve Ballesteros, 273

Where it was played: Royal Lytham & St. Annes in Lytham St. Annes, England

Tournament dates: July 14-18, 1988

Leader after first round: Seve Ballesteros, 67

Leader after second round: Nick Price, 137

Leader after third round: Nick Price, 206

What Happened at the 1988 Open Championship

Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club was the site of the 1988 British Open, nine years after hosting its last. At the 1979 Open at Lytham, a 22-year-old Seve Ballesteros won his first Open Championship. And in 1988 at Lytham, Ballesteros won his third British Open, one that proved to be the last of his five career major titles. After his his win here, Ballesteros finished in the Top 10 in majors only twice more.

This Open finished on a Monday after heavy rains on Saturday delayed third-round play. When the final round began, Nick Price held a 2-stroke lead over Ballesteros and defending champion Nick Faldo.

Faldo fell behind the other two early and wound up shooting 71, finishing in third. Price and Ballesteros battled throughout most of the round, until Seve took control with a tap-in birdie on the 16th hole. Price shot 69, but Ballesteros carded a 65 to win by two strokes.

Three-time Open winner Jack Nicklaus, age 48, finished tied for 25th, his final Top 25 finish in this major.

1988 British Open Final Scores

Seve Ballesteros 67-71-70-65—273
Nick Price 70-67-69-69—275
Nick Faldo 71-69-68-71—279
Gary Koch 71-72-70-68—281
Fred Couples 73-69-71-68—281
Peter Senior 70-73-70-69—282
Isao Aoki 72-71-73-67—283
Sandy Lyle 73-69-67-74—283
David Frost 71-75-69-68—283
Payne Stewart 73-75-68-67—283
Brad Faxon 69-74-70-71—284
David J. Russell 71-74-69-70—284
Eduardo Romero 72-71-69-73—285
Larry Nelson 73-71-68-73—285
Curtis Strange 79-69-69-68—285
Ben Crenshaw 73-73-68-72—286
Don Pooley 70-73-69-74—286
Andy Bean 71-70-71-74—286
Jose Rivero 75-69-70-72—286
Bob Tway 71-71-72-73—287
Bob Charles 71-74-69-73—287
Tom Kite 75-71-73-68—287
Gordon Brand Jr. 72-76-68-71—287
Rodger Davis 76-71-72-68—287
Jack Nicklaus 75-70-75-68—288
Ian Woosnam 76-71-72-69—288
Mark O'Meara 75-69-75-70—289
Tommy Armour III 73-72-72-73—290
Mark McNulty 73-73-72-72—290
Chip Beck 72-71-74-73—290
Tom Watson 74-72-72-72—290
Howard Clark 71-72-75-72—290
Jim Benepe 75-72-70-73—290
Wayne Riley 72-71-72-76—291
Lanny Wadkins 73-71-71-76—291
Gordon J. Brand 73-74-72-73—292
Jose Maria Olazabal 73-71-73-75—292
Brian Marchbank 73-74-73-73—293
Ronan Rafferty 74-74-71-74—293
Corey Pavin 74-73-71-75—293
Graham Marsh 75-73-71-74—293
Ken Brown 75-72-75-71—293
Wayne Grady 69-76-72-76—293
David A. Russell 72-73-72-76—293
Noel Ratcliffe 70-77-76-70—293
Jay Haas 71-76-78-68—293
Paul Azinger 72-75-73-74—294
Sam Torrance 74-74-75-71—294
Mark McCumber 75-71-72-76—294
Andy North 77-68-74-75—294
Paul Kent 74-70-79-71—294
Philip Walton 72-74-75-74—295
Hubert Green 74-73-73-75—295
Johnny Miller 75-73-72-75—295
Fuzzy Zoeller 72-74-76-73—295
Peter Fowler 72-72-78-73—295
a-Paul Broadhurst 73-73-74-76—296
Mike Smith 75-71-76-74—296
Carl Mason 75-69-77-75—296
Gary Player 72-76-73-76—297
Craig Stadler 72-68-81-76—297
Mark James 71-77-74-76—298
Simon Bishop 77-71-73-77—298
Andrew Sherborne 71-72-76-79—298
Manuel Pinero 75-73-77-74—299
Paul Carmen 77-71-80-73—301
Greg Bruckner 72-74-80-76—302
Hsieh Chin Sheng 74-73-73-82—302
Bernhard Langer 73-75-75-80—303
Gary Stafford 76-72-78-79—305
Peter Mitchell 73-75-79-81—308

Previous and next:
1987 British Open - 1989 British Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List