1976 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1976 PGA Championship was the 58th time the tournament was played. The winner made a clutch putt on the final hole for the victory, after surviving tough scoring conditions that sank some other contenders.

Winner: Dave Stockton, 281

Where it was played: Congressional Country Club (Blue Course) in Bethesda, Maryland

Tournament dates: August 12-16, 1976

Leader after first round: Tom Weiskopf, 65

Leader after second round: Gil Morgan, 134

Leader after third round: Charles Coody, 207

What Happened at the 1976 PGA Championship

Dave Stockton trailed by five strokes after the first round, and by 10 strokes after 36 holes. After a 69 in the third round, he was still four strokes off the lead held by 1971 Masters winner Charles Coody. Jack Nicklaus was tied for second place, two behind Coody but two in front of Stockton.

And Stockton's 71 in the final round wasn't spectacular. But on a day of tough scoring, it was enough. Don January and Raymond Floyd, both previous PGA Championship winners, had the clubhouse lead at 282 when Stockton reached the final hole. He needed a par to win. And that's what Stockton got, sinking a 15-foot par putt on the final green to secure the one-stroke victory.

What happened to Coody and Nicklaus? Nicklaus, the defending champion, had a 74 in the final round and tied for fourth place. Coody ballooned to 77 and fell to eighth place. Gil Morgan, tied with Nicklaus in second place after 54 holes, had a 75 and tied for eighth.

Rain made the final two rounds (the last round was pushed into Monday) a slog for many in the field. Stockton's winning score of 1-over 281 was the highest in tournament history to this point. In the United States' bicentennial year, the tournament was played in the Washington, D.C., area: Congressional Country Club made its PGA Championship debut (it had hosted one major previously, the 1964 U.S. Open).

The victory was Stockton's second in this tournament — he also won the 1970 PGA Championship — and proved to be the last of his 10 wins on the PGA Tour.

Nicklaus, Gary Player (tied 13th) and Arnold Palmer (tied 15th) all finished in the Top 15, the last time that ever happened in a major championship. In fact, this was Palmer's last Top 15 finish in any of the four majors. Art Wall, winner of the 1959 Masters, played in a PGA Championship for the last time here and missed the cut.

1976 PGA Championship Final Scores

Dave Stockton 70-72-69-70—281
Don January 70-69-71-72—282
Raymond Floyd 72-68-71-71—282
David Graham 70-71-70-72—283
John Schlee 72-71-70-70—283
Jerry Pate 69-73-72-69—283
Jack Nicklaus 71-69-69-74—283
Jerry McGee 68-72-72-72—284
Tom Weiskopf 65-74-73-72—284
Ben Crenshaw 71-69-74-70—284
Gil Morgan 66-68-75-75—284
Charles Coody 68-72-67-77—284
Tom Kite 66-72-73-75—286
Gary Player 70-69-72-75—286
Mark Hayes 69-72-73-73—287
Mike Hill 72-70-73-72—287
Mike Morley 69-72-72-74—287
Tom Watson 70-74-70-73—287
J.C. Snead 74-71-70-72—287
Lee Elder 68-74-70-75—287
Arnold Palmer 71-76-68-72—287
Don Massengale 71-74-73-70—288
Joe Inman 72-69-74-73—288
Jerry Heard 72-74-69-73—288
Leonard Thompson 73-69-72-74—288
Lou Graham 74-70-70-74—288
Gene Littler 71-69-73-75—288
Dave Hill 76-66-75-71—288
Joe Porter 72-71-70-76—289
Rik Massengale 71-72-73-74—290
Hubert Green 73-70-73-74—290
Grier Jones 71-70-75-74—290
Bob Zender 69-71-73-77—290
Larry Nelson 75-71-74-71—291
Bill Collins 70-70-76-75—291
Hale Irwin 69-73-77-72—291
Gibby Gilbert 70-78-72-71—291
Howard Twitty 73-71-74-74—292
Bruce Crampton 74-71-75-72—292
Peter Oosterhuis 75-73-73-71—292
Tommy Aaron 72-72-72-76—292
Bruce Lietzke 75-73-68-76—292
John Lister 74-72-73-74—293
Kermit Zarley 71-73-74-75—293
Rod Funseth 71-75-73-74—293
Roger Maltbie 76-72-73-72—293
Pat Fitzsimons 77-71-73-72—293
Don Padgett 71-71-72-79—293
Wally Armstrong 74-75-69-76—294
Andy North 72-73-79-70—294
Billy Casper 75-74-72-74—295
Don Bies 76-71-72-76—295
George Cadle 71-70-77-77—295
Dennis Tiziani 77-68-75-75—295
Bert Weaver 73-70-78-74—295
Miller Barber 79-70-73-73—295
Ed Sneed 71-76-76-73—296
Tom Ulozas 73-76-74-73—296
Jim Colbert 72-72-75-77—296
Gene Borek 73-76-72-76—297
Jim Simons 75-73-72-77—297
Jimmy Wright 77-72-72-76—297
Jack Keifer 72-71-75-79—297
Lyn Lott 70-72-76-80—298
Bob Dickson 74-73-77-75—299
Mac McLendon 77-72-76-74—299
Forrest Fezler 72-75-73-79—299
Labron Harris Jr. 73-73-80-75—301
Clayton Cole 75-74-78-76—303
Bob Gilder 75-74-79-75—303
Don Iverson 73-76-81-75—305
Stan Thirsk 76-71-76-82—305
Mal Galletta 74-74-78-81—307

Previous and next:
1975 PGA Championship - 1977 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List