1975 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1975 PGA Championship was the 57th time the tournament was played, and the site of Jack Nicklaus' 14th win in a major. It was also the fourth major in which Bruce Crampton finished runner-up to Nicklaus.

Winner: Jack Nicklaus, 276

Where it was played: Firestone Country Club (South Course) in Akron, Ohio

Tournament dates: August 7-10, 1975

Leader after first round: Mark Hayes, 67

Leader after second round: Bruce Crampton, 134

Leader after third round: Jack Nicklaus, 205

What Happened in the 1975 PGA Championship

Bruce Crampton was the 36-hole leader at the 1975 PGA Championship on the strength of his second-round 63. It was the first round of 63 ever carded in a PGA Championship, and just the second 63 posted in any major (Johnny Miller's closing 63 at Oakmont in the 1973 U.S. Open was the first).

But it wasn't good enough to get Crampton the victory. Jack Nicklaus was lurking nearby, and in the third round Nicklaus shot 67 to Crampton's 75. That gave Nicklaus a 4-stroke lead over Crampton heading into the final round, and Nicklaus' 71 in Round 4 was good enough for a 2-stroke victory.

It was Nicklaus' second major title of the year, having earlier won the 1975 Masters. (That was just the fourth time any golfer won both The Masters and PGA Championship in the same calendar year.) It was also Nicklaus' fourth win in the PGA Championship, and his 14th major championship title overall. There were some golf wags at the time who counted Bobby Jones' wins in both amateur and professional majors to credit Jones with 13 major wins, while not crediting Nicklaus' two amateur major wins, as a way of keeping Jones ahead of Nicklaus on the all-time major wins chart. But with his 14th professional major title here, Nicklaus made that argument moot — he was No. 1 in majors no matter how you looked at it.

Nicklaus later won the 1980 PGA Championship to tie Walter Hagen's record of five wins in this event. Crampton tied a then-record in the 1975 PGA Championship, too, although not necessarily the kind you want. This was his fourth runner-up finish in a major — all four to Nicklaus — without a victory. At the time, Crampton shared the record for most seconds in majors without winning one.

1975 PGA Championship Final Scores

Jack Nicklaus 70-68-67-71—276
Bruce Crampton 71-63-75-69—278
Tom Weiskopf 70-71-70-68—279
Andy North 72-74-70-65—281
Billy Casper 69-72-72-70—283
Hale Irwin 72-65-73-73—283
Dave Hill 71-71-74-68—284
Gene Littler 76-71-66-71—284
Tom Watson 70-71-71-73—285
Raymond Floyd 70-73-72-71—286
Don January 72-70-71-73—286
Bud Allin 73-72-70-71—286
Ben Crenshaw 73-72-71-70—286
David Graham 72-70-70-74—286
Leonard Thompson 74-69-72-71—286
John Schlee 71-68-75-72—286
Gil Morgan 73-71-71-72—287
Steve Melnyk 71-72-74-70—287
Mike Hill 72-71-70-74—287
Dale Douglass 74-72-74-67—287
Gibby Gilbert 73-70-77-67—287
Chi Chi Rodriguez 73-72-74-69—288
Mark Hayes 67-71-75-75—288
Ed Dougherty 69-70-72-77—288
Mac McLendon 73-71-70-75—289
Jerry Heard 75-70-70-74—289
Bob Murphy 75-68-69-77—289
John Mahaffey 71-70-75-74—290
J.C. Snead 73-67-75-75—290
Larry Hinson 68-73-72-77—290
Jim Colbert 79-66-72-73—290
Bob Wynn 69-69-80-72—290
Arnold Palmer 73-72-73-73—291
Gay Brewer 74-74-71-72—291
Bobby Nichols 72-75-72-72—291
Gary Player 72-70-73-76—291
Jimmy Powell 73-68-76-74—291
Tom Kite 77-71-72-71—291
Al Geiberger 70-70-80-71—291
Bob Stanton 71-73-74-74—292
Jerry McGee 73-74-73-72—292
Peter Oosterhuis 74-72-72-74—292
Tom Shaw 75-72-71-74—292
Bobby Cole 71-74-71-76—292
Butch Baird 72-69-74-77—292
Julius Boros 71-73-78-70—292
Mike Morley 70-72-75-76—293
Tom Jenkins 72-75-73-74—294
Charles Sifford 74-72-75-73—294
Jim Dent 70-71-77-77—295
Bruce Devlin 70-73-75-77—295
Art Wall Jr. 70-74-74-77—295
Forrest Fezler 75-72-71-77—295
Ed Sneed 72-75-74-75—296
George Johnson 73-74-74-75—296
Jimmy Wright 73-74-76-73—296
Eddie Pearce 74-73-77-72—296
Lou Graham 73-71-74-78—296
Fred Wampler 69-74-80-73—296
Roger Watson 73-73-76-75—297
Lee Trevino 73-72-78-74—297
Bob Benson 68-77-80-72—297
Victor Regalado 74-69-74-80—297
Maurie Ver Brugge 72-68-84-73—297
Ron Letellier 76-72-75-75—298
Homero Blancas 72-76-78-72—298
Dennis Meyer 72-74-74-80—300
Rolf Deming 74-73-83-70—300
Paul Moran 79-69-78-76—302
Al Chandler 71-75-78-81—305
Dow Finsterwald 75-73-76-81—305

Previous and next:
1974 PGA Championship - 1976 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List