2001 British Open Winner and Scores

The 2001 British Open was the 130th edition of the tournament and where David Duval won his only major championship title.

Winner: David Duval, 274

Where it was played: Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club, Lytham St. Annes, England

Tournament dates: July 19-22, 2001

Leader after first round: Colin Montgomerie, 65

Leader after second round: Colin Montgomerie, 135

Leader after third round: David Duval, Ian Woosnam, Bernhard Langer and Alex Cejka, 207

What Happened at the 2001 Open Championship

David Duval had been chasing his first major championship trophy for a while. He had accomplished much in his PGA Tour career: No. 1 world ranking, Ryder Cup teams, double-digit career victories, a round of 59. But that first major had eluded him. Until the 2001 British Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes.

Tiger Woods, the defending champ who dominated golf in 2000, opened solidly but couldn't get anything going on the weekend and finished in 25th place. But Duval, after opening 69-73, put the pedal down on the weekend, first shooting 65 in the third round.

That 65 produced a four-way tie for the lead between Duval, Alex Cejka, Bernhard Langer and Ian Woosnam. In that final round, Duval shot 67 while the other three fell away, Cejka with a 73, Langer and Woosnam with 71s. Woosnam's final round got off to a very bad start when he incurred a penalty for having too many clubs in his golf bag (he tied for third, his last Top 10 finish in a major). It was Niclas Fasth who finished as the solo runner-up, three strokes behind Duval. Duval never won again on the PGA Tour, and won only once anywhere else (later in 2001 on the Japan Tour).

The 2001 British Open marked the final appearance of Gary Player in this tournament. Player, a 3-time winner of the Open Championship, posted rounds of 77 and 82 and missed the cut.

2001 British Open Final Scores

David Duval 69-73-65-67—274
Niclas Fasth 69-69-72-67—277
Ernie Els 71-71-67-69—278
Darren Clarke 70-69-69-70—278
Miguel Angel Jimenez 69-72-67-70—278
Billy Mayfair 69-72-67-70—278
Ian Woosnam 72-68-67-71—278
Bernhard Langer 71-69-67-71—278
Mikko Ilonen 68-75-70-66—279
Kevin Sutherland 75-69-68-67—279
Sergio Garcia 70-72-67-70—279
Jesper Parnevik 69-68-71-71—279
Vijay Singh 70-70-71-69—280
Loren Roberts 70-70-70-70—280
Des Smyth 74-65-70-71—280
Billy Andrade 69-70-70-71—280
Retief Goosen 74-68-67-71—280
Colin Montgomerie 65-70-73-72—280
Raphael Jacquelin 71-68-69-72—280
Alex Cejka 69-69-69-73—280
Davis Love III 73-67-74-67—281
Nick Price 73-67-68-73—281
Michael Campbell 71-72-71-68—282
Greg Owen 69-68-72-73—282
Bob Estes 74-70-73-66—283
Tiger Woods 71-68-73-71—283
Eduardo Romero 70-68-72-73—283
Joe Ogilvie 69-68-71-75—283
Barry Lane 70-72-72-70—284
Justin Rose 69-72-74-70—285
Stewart Cink 71-72-72-70—285
Phil Mickelson 70-72-72-71—285
Phillip Price 74-69-71-71—285
Scott Verplank 71-72-70-72—285
a-David Dixon 70-71-70-74—285
Nicolas Vanhootegem 72-68-70-75—285
Padraig Harrington 75-66-74-71—286
Frank Lickliter 71-71-73-71—286
Toru Taniguchi 72-69-72-73—286
Andrew Coltart 75-68-70-73—286
Dudley Hart 74-69-69-74—286
JP Hayes 69-71-74-73—287
Richard Green 71-70-72-74—287
Steve Stricker 71-69-72-75—287
Mark O'Meara 70-69-72-76—287
Paul Lawrie 72-70-69-76—287
Peter Lonard 72-70-74-72—288
Robert Allenby 73-71-71-73—288
Chris Dimarco 68-74-72-74—288
Lee Westwood 73-70-71-74—288
Matt Gogel 73-70-71-74—288
Adam Scott 73-71-70-74—288
Brad Faxon 68-71-74-75—288
Jose Maria Olazabal 69-74-73-73—289
Rory Sabbatini 70-69-76-74—289
Carlos Franco 71-71-73-74—289
Mark Calcavecchia 72-70-72-75—289
Paul Curry 72-71-71-75—289
Paul McGinley 69-72-72-76—289
Duffy Waldorf 70-73-69-77—289
Stuart Appleby 69-75-72-74—290
Gordon Brand Jr. 70-72-75-74—291
Brandel Chamblee 72-69-74-76—291
Pierre Fulke 69-67-72-83—291
Neil Cheetham 72-72-73-78—295
Thomas Levet 72-72-77-75—296
Alexandre Balicki 69-75-75-77—296
David Smail 71-72-76-79—298
Scott Henderson 75-69-81-76—301
Sandy Lyle 72-71-77-81—301

Previous and next:
2000 British Open - 2002 British Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List