2002 British Open Golf Championship Results

The 2002 British Open was the 131st edition of the tournament, and Ernie Els won his first Open and third overall major.

Winner: Ernie Els, 278

Where it was played: Muirfield Links, Gullane, Scotland

Tournament dates: July 18-21, 2002

Leader after first round: David Toms, Duffy Waldorf and Carl Petterssen, 67

Leader after second round: Duffy Waldorf, Shigeki Maruyama, Bob Tway, Ernie Els and Padraig Harrington, 136

Leader after third round: Ernie Els, 208

Notable Notes: There was a 3-way tie after the first round, and a 5-way tie after the second round. Ernie Els appeared to take control after the third round, opening a 2-stroke lead. But the tournament ended in a 4-way playoff after three golfers who played great final rounds - Thomas Levet and Steve Elkington with 66s, and Stuart Appleby with a 65 - caught Els.

In the 4-hole aggregate playoff, Levet bogied the fourth hole to lose his 1-stroke advantage over Els. Appleby and Elkington dropped out, but Levet and Els had to go another hole. And on the fifth hole, Els finally won it with a par.

The third round was played in terrible conditions, wet and cold, and Tiger Woods shot 81. Woods had won the first two majors of 2002, the Masters and U.S. Open.

Final Scores

p-Ernie Els 70-66-72-70—278
Thomas Levet 72-66-74-66—278
Stuart Appleby 73-70-70-65—278
Steve Elkington 71-73-68-66—278
Gary Evans 72-68-74-65—279
Padraig Harrington 69-67-76-67—279
Shigeki Maruyama 68-68-75-68—279
Peter O'Malley 72-68-75-65—280
Scott Hoch 74-69-71-66—280
Retief Goosen 71-68-74-67—280
Thomas Bjorn 68-70-73-69—280
Sergio Garcia 71-69-71-69—280
Soren Hansen 68-69-73-70—280
Davis Love III 71-72-71-67—281
Nick Price 68-70-75-68—281
Peter Lonard 72-72-68-69—281
Justin Leonard 71-72-68-70—281
Bob Estes 71-70-73-68—282
Greg Norman 71-72-71-68—282
Duffy Waldorf 67-69-77-69—282
Scott McCarron 71-68-72-71—282
Chris Riley 70-71-76-66—283
Toshimitsu Izawa 76-68-72-67—283
Mark O'Meara 69-69-77-68—283
Corey Pavin 69-70-75-69—283
David Duval 72-71-70-70—283
Justin Rose 68-75-68-72—283
Tiger Woods 70-68-81-65—284
Pierre Fulke 72-69-78-65—284
Bradley Dredge 70-72-74-68—284
Bernhard Langer 72-72-71-69—284
Niclas Fasth 70-73-71-70—284
Jerry Kelly 73-71-70-70—284
Jesper Parnevik 72-72-70-70—284
Loren Roberts 74-69-70-71—284
Des Smyth 68-69-74-73—284
Neal Lancaster 71-71-76-67—285
Ian Woosnam 72-72-73-68—285
Darren Clarke 72-67-77-69—285
Stephen Leaney 71-70-75-69—285
Andrew Coltart 71-69-74-71—285
Scott Verplank 72-68-74-71—285
Esteban Toledo 73-70-75-68—286
Steve Jones 68-75-73-70—286
Trevor Immelman 72-72-71-71—286
Carl Pettersson 67-70-76-73—286
Paul Eales 73-71-76-67—287
Jeff Maggert 71-68-80-68—287
Rocco Mediate 71-72-74-70—287
Warren Bennett 71-68-82-67—288
Mikko Ilonen 71-70-77-70—288
Fredrik Andersson 74-70-74-70—288
Ian Poulter 69-69-78-72—288
Bob Tway 70-66-78-74—288
Shingo Katayama 72-68-74-74—288
Barry Lane 74-68-72-74—288
Ian Garbutt 69-70-74-75—288
Craig Perks 72-70-71-75—288
Stewart Cink 71-69-80-69—289
Steve Stricker 69-70-81-69—289
Richard Green 72-72-75-70—289
Paul Lawrie 70-70-78-71—289
Nick Faldo 73-69-76-71—289
Kenichi Kuboya 70-73-73-73—289
Joe Durant 72-71-73-73—289
Phil Mickelson 68-76-76-70—290
Jarrod Moseley 70-73-75-72—290
Chris DiMarco 72-69-75-74—290
Matthew Cort 73-71-78-69—291
Toru Taniguchi 71-73-76-71—291
Stephen Ames 68-70-81-72—291
Len Mattiace 68-73-77-73—291
Jim Carter 74-70-73-74—291
Mike Weir 73-69-74-75—291
Sandy Lyle 68-76-73-75—292
Chris Smith 74-69-71-78—292
Anders Hansen 71-72-79-71—293
Roger Wessels 72-71-73-77—293
David Park 73-67-74-80—294
Lee Janzen 70-69-84-72—295
Mark Calcavecchia 74-66-81-74—295
Colin Montgomerie 74-64-84-75—297
David Toms 67-75-81-75—298

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List