2006 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2006 PGA Championship was the 88th time the tournament was played and it resulted in an easy win for Tiger Woods.

Winner: Tiger Woods, 270

Where it was played: Medinah Country Club (No. 3 Course), Medinah, Illinois

Tournament dates: August 17-20, 2006

Leader after first round: Chris Riley and Lucas Glover, 66

Leader after second round: Tim Herron, Billy Andrade, Luke Donald and Henrik Stenson, 136

Leader after third round: Luke Donald and Tiger Woods, 202

What Happened at the 2006 PGA Championship

At the 1999 PGA Championship, played at Medinah, Tiger Woods won this major for the first time. In 2006, it returned to Medinah, and Woods won it again.

Woods was tied for 10th place after the first round and fifth place after the second round. In the third round Woods' 65 was the low score of the day, moving him into the tie with Luke Donald atop the leaderboard. Donald had a large fan base at Medinah as a Chicago resident and product of Northwestern University. But it didn't help him in Round 4. Woods made a 10-foot birdie putt on the first hole to move in front of Donald. He wound up with a final-round 68, while Donald limped along to 74 and fell into a tie for third place.

No one else was able to mount a charge in the final round, either, and Woods finished with a five-stroke victory. It was 2003 PGA Championship winner Shaun Micheel who wound up second to Tiger, five strokes behind.

It was Woods' third win of the PGA Championship, his 12th overall major championship win, and the 51st overall win of his PGA Tour career. Woods had won the 2006 British Open a month earlier, and he won two majors in 2005, too. He thus became the first golfer ever to win at least two of the four majors of men's professional golf in consecutive years.

Nick Price, winner of the 1992 PGA Championship and 1994 PGA Championship, played this major for the final time in 2006, missing the cut.

2006 PGA Championship Final Scores

Tiger Woods 69-68-65-68—270
Shaun Micheel 69-70-67-69—275
Sergio Garcia 69-70-67-70—276
Adam Scott 71-69-69-67—276
Luke Donald 68-68-66-74—276
Mike Weir 72-67-65-73—277
Steve Stricker 72-67-70-69—278
K.J. Choi 73-67-67-71—278
Ryan Moore 71-72-67-69—279
Geoff Ogilvy 69-68-68-74—279
Ian Poulter 70-70-68-71—279
Sean O'Hair 72-70-70-68—280
Chris DiMarco 71-70-67-72—280
Henrik Stenson 68-68-73-72—281
Tim Herron 69-67-72-73—281
Phil Mickelson 69-71-68-74—282
Ernie Els 71-70-72-69—282
David Toms 71-67-71-73—282
Woody Austin 71-69-69-73—282
Robert Allenby 68-74-71-70—283
Jonathan Byrd 69-72-74-68—283
Harrison Frazar 69-72-69-73—283
Fred Funk 69-69-74-71—283
Steve Flesch 72-71-69-72—284
Anders Hansen 72-71-70-71—284
Chad Campbell 71-72-75-66—284
Stewart Cink 68-74-73-69—284
Tim Clark 70-69-75-70—284
Lee Westwood 69-72-71-73—285
Heath Slocum 73-70-72-70—285
Jim Furyk 70-72-69-74—285
Robert Karlsson 71-73-69-72—285
Dean Wilson 74-70-74-67—285
Trevor Immelman 73-71-70-72—286
Retief Goosen 70-73-68-75—286
Davis Love III 68-69-73-76—286
Richard Green 73-69-73-72—287
J.B. Holmes 71-70-68-78—287
Billy Mayfair 69-69-73-76—287
Graeme McDowell 75-68-72-72—287
Chris Riley 66-72-73-77—288
Justin Rose 73-70-70-75—288
J.J. Henry 68-73-73-74—288
Daniel Chopra 72-67-76-73—288
Billy Andrade 67-69-78-74—288
Olin Browne 75-66-73-75—289
Lucas Glover 66-74-77-72—289
Jerry Kelly 70-74-74-72—290
Nathan Green 71-71-74-75—291
Corey Pavin 72-71-72-76—291
Kenny Perry 72-71-71-77—291
Ryan Palmer 70-73-72-76—291
Rich Beem 75-69-72-75—291
Joey Sindelar 74-70-73-74—291
Hideto Tanihara 73-71-78-70—292
Stuart Appleby 70-73-79-70—292
Stephen Ames 74-69-74-75—292
Aaron Baddeley 70-74-75-73—292
Jose Olazabal 72-68-75-77—292
Ben Curtis 72-72-73-76—293
Steve Lowery 70-72-76-75—293
Jeff Maggert 75-68-78-74—295
Charles Warren 73-70-77-75—295
Jason Gore 70-73-75-77—295
Miguel Angel Jimenez 70-73-75-78—296
Bob Tway 72-71-75-78—296
David Howell 71-71-73-82—297
Jay Haas 75-68-74-83—300
Don Yrene 71-72-77-80—300
Jim Kane 71-71-80-79—301

Previous and next:
2005 PGA Championship - 2007 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List